.50 cal black powder sabot/bullet recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

.50 cal black powder sabot/bullet recommendations

I'm new to BP shooting and I like to know what loads and bullets other hunters are using. I have a TC encore .50 and currently not getting a good shot group with loads that came with rifle. I bought the rifle and shooting supplies from a TBH member 2 years ago. Have TC 275 grain maxi-hunter and 295 grain Powerbelt bullets. I use two Hodgdon tiple 7 pellets when I shoot. I hunt late season deer and hogs in east TX. Currently shooting off bench I can only get 3" group at fifty yards. Any help and recommendations would be appreciated

I get good results with TC Shockwave bullets (250 grain sabots) and 100 grains of Blackhorn 209 powder...groups around 2" at 100 yards with my CVA Optima V2.

Comment

In my Encore I like TC Shockwave sabots with 250 gr bullet and 2 Triple 7 pellets. I get around 2" groups at 100 yds. I get about the same size groups if I use 3 pellets but the recoil is brutal.

Comment

i’ve been cleaning mine between every shot
        when you shoot at a deer it’s going to be from a clean cold barrel mine tends to shoot way different from a fouled barrel
        it’s a pain in the butt but oh well lol
        i didn’t think the powerbelt bullets killed very good either i went to the tc shockwave with the sabot seam to perform better than the powerbelt

Comment

Originally posted by mudkat View Post
          i’ve been cleaning mine between every shot
          when you shoot at a deer it’s going to be from a clean cold barrel mine tends to shoot way different from a fouled barrel
          it’s a pain in the butt but oh well lol
          i didn’t think the powerbelt bullets killed very good either i went to the tc shockwave with the sabot seam to perform better than the powerbelt