Composting Toilet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Composting Toilet

Going to upgrade The Facilities at the Cabin .. I'm a Health Inspector by Trade ..So I'm bound to do it the Right Way..
    Standard Septic Systems for Rocky soil can be $15K + But a good Composting Toilet can be less than $1200 .. Perfectly Legal in Texas and @ 25 other states.

Anybody use these ...

I'm looking at Nature's Head model @$1K and under with good reviews and top 3 picks for best composting toilet ..

We looked at several options for our place out west. My wife’s uncle bought a toilet that burns all the waste automatically. It was like three grand. I’ve looked into the compost thing. Seems like it’s basically waste and saw dust. Then you pile it up and turn it over for a couple years till it all breaks down. I’m still roughing it out there currently but have to decide this myself.

Comment

I looked into them before. There is a lot of youtube video's of people testing them for short term and long term results. Some of the woman don't look that bad either!

Comment

My brother in law has one in his cabin, goin on 3 years now, very little maintenance and he really likes it. Sorry, don't have any details on it tho.

Comment

Curious... Where does the waste material go?

Comment

Originally posted by Big Lee View Post
            That’s just it. It’s basically a very expensive bucket that you empty into a compost pile. It doesn’t just go away.

Comment

I built an off the grid cabin in Kentucky back in 2012. Rainwater catchment system into a cistern, Honda eu2000 generator to pump water up to sinks and shower. Worked like a charm.

Potty was a Lovable Loo (found it online during my research for compost toilets back then): https://loveableloo.store/

Click image for larger version

Name:	Lovable Loo.png
Views:	1
Size:	434.6 KB
ID:	24649886