Let’s talk arrows and broad heads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Let’s talk arrows and broad heads

I’m new to compound bow hunting and looking for info and advice. I’ll primarily be hunting white tails and hogs with the bow. I’ve heard different arguments on light and fast arrows or heavy and deep penetration arrows.

What arrow setup do I need to ensure when I let one fly at a whitetail that it’s going to get the job done?

What grain broadhead with what grain arrow?

Carbon, aluminum, graphite arrows?

A certain length arrow?

Single bevel, double bevel broadheads?

And what about FOC?

Thanks for any help or advice.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What's your draw length and draw weight on your bow?

Comment

Never go lighter than recommended spine. Having an arrow go thru your forearm won’t feel good!!!

As stated above, the answers you need will depend solely on your draw length and weight!

Comment

Originally posted by highspeed View Post
        What's your draw length and draw weight on your bow?

28in and 55lb

Comment

In my opinion, and this is my stance on it, is that too many new bow hunters are worried about FOC, Arrow Weight, heavy broadheads, etc. I never even heard about FOC until a year or so ago.

Unfortunately the some of the easiest info to find online are guys who are good at making videos but have limited hunting experience touting the best broadheads and arrow set ups based on their experience shooting a few hogs.

Personally, for a whitetail rig, I want a carbon arrow that is around the 430-450 grain weight flying around the 280+ fps range. I like a big mechanical 3 blade….the grim reaper, wasp jackhammer, rage 3 blade chisel tip, etc. for fixed blades I like Slicktrick or 3 blade muzzy although for deer I much prefer an expandable broadhead.

Single bevel, 3:1 ratio type heads work great for low energy Traditional bows that lack the KE of modern compound.