Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > D-I-Y Projects
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2023, 05:42 PM   #1
Bill
Pope & Young
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheridan, MT
Hunt In: Montana
Default Timers on Decora light switches

I'm putting in Decora timers for our front and rear outdoor post lights. It looks like the other switches. My black cover didnít ship with the switch/timer and Iíll put it in when arrives.

Getting to the programming part now.

Ever seen an electrical switch that needs your lat/long for programming? The **** thing calculates the sunset and sunrise automatically if you don't want to set a single time! It probably has more computing power than the Apollo capsule that went to the moon.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Bill; 02-07-2023 at 05:44 PM.
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-07-2023, 05:59 PM   #2
texan16
Pope & Young
 
texan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Fairfield
Hunt In: Freestone/Schleicher Counties
Default

Thats gonna be pretty handy....
texan16 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 05:54 AM   #3
Rubberdown
Ten Point
 
Rubberdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Houston
Default

exercise caution. I have had them burn up and melt the wires. But they are handy.
Rubberdown is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 06:01 AM   #4
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Had them for years.

Mostly for outside/Christmas lights.





No reason for them to burn up if they are sized properly for the circuit and the load served.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 07:47 AM   #5
TexaRican
Pope & Young
 
TexaRican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury
Default

I have messed with programmable switches in my last 3 houses and when one went out on me this week, I finally gave up and just put a $13 day/night sensor on the bulb in my brick and glass mailbox. Gonna do the same on courtyard column lights.
The timers don't tend to tolerate power outtages very well and we have a bunch here. I've done the smart light versions with wifi and more recently just the plane digital timer but kept having issues. Hope you have better luck.
TexaRican is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 08:23 AM   #6
Bill
Pope & Young
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheridan, MT
Hunt In: Montana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubberdown View Post
exercise caution. I have had them burn up and melt the wires. But they are handy.

More details? Name brand like Leviton? Which wires? Did the breaker trip? Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 06:13 PM   #7
Texas Grown
Pope & Young
 
Texas Grown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burleson, Texas
Default

That's pretty cool, Bill. Thanks for starting a thread on it.




Quote:
Originally Posted by TexaRican View Post
I have messed with programmable switches in my last 3 houses and when one went out on me this week, I finally gave up and just put a $13 day/night sensor on the bulb in my brick and glass mailbox. Gonna do the same on courtyard column lights.
The timers don't tend to tolerate power outtages very well and we have a bunch here. I've done the smart light versions with wifi and more recently just the plane digital timer but kept having issues. Hope you have better luck.

They shoulda never shut the power plant down.
Texas Grown is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 06:44 PM   #8
Bill
Pope & Young
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheridan, MT
Hunt In: Montana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Grown View Post
That's pretty cool, Bill. Thanks for starting a thread on it. .
These are interesting to wire in, similar to the Leviton dimmers for 3-way circuits (multiple switches) you also need to connect to a common/neutral wire unlike typical switches.

Their installation sheet takes a little time to read and understand how there are connected.
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 07:09 PM   #9
kmitchl
Ten Point
 
kmitchl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montgomery, TX
Hunt In: Eldorado
Default

I have all of my outside lights on smart switches that I can program from my phone.
kmitchl is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-08-2023, 08:23 PM   #10
Bill
Pope & Young
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheridan, MT
Hunt In: Montana
Default

That would be the next level!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com