D I Y European Mounts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

D I Y European Mounts

To start with, I'm no expert on this stuff...but I have been reading up on it, and practicing for the last few months to get the process down before I start doing my Antlered deer. I may also be doing some work for a local taxidermist, so getting the process right before working on other peoples trophy's was important. Anyways, what I'm going to do is provide a basic walk through of the process.

IGNORE THE DATES ON MY PICTURES>>I FORGOT TO RESET THE DATE TIME AFTER THE BATTERY CHANGE

First off, there are a few different ways to get the skull cleaned. The first is boiling. Its the easiest and quickest way to get the meat off, but it does cause some other problems. One is that while your trying to pick all that meat off, you can do a lot of damage to the real fragile bones in the nasal cavities, and loose some details in the finished skull. The plus side is that its quicker. The second way is called maceration, where you put the skull into a bucket or container of water and let it rot for a few weeks. The smell is VERY BAD, and I tried it once, but found out didnt care for the smell of this method. It does work however, IF you can tolerate the stench! The third method is to have your skull cleaned by dermestid beetles (or have your own colony..which I'll cover in another DIY later. The intent of this D I Y is to start the process AFTER using one of the above methods...so here's what you do:

Here is a hog skull fresh out of the beetle tank: