Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2020, 06:39 PM   #1
CADDOKILLER
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midlothian
Default Mesh wifi systems

Anyone use one of these? We have a 3800sf house and have several dead areas. I am a tech idiot and dont know which one to buy. Thanks
CADDOKILLER is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:42 PM   #2
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CADDOKILLER View Post
Anyone use one of these? We have a 3800sf house and have several dead areas. I am a tech idiot and dont know which one to buy. Thanks


Yes. I use Eero. I have full signal anywhere in my house plus good signal out by the pool/hot tub.

I have a base plus 3 beacons.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:43 PM   #3
zr2chevy22
Ten Point
 
zr2chevy22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Fe, TX
Hunt In: Diboll, TX
Default

We are using the Linksys Velop with 3 nodes and covering 3/4 of an acre area with no problems has both attached and unattached buildings
zr2chevy22 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:49 PM   #4
kae006
Pope & Young
 
kae006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nebraska
Hunt In: Colorado, Wyoming
Default

We use the Deco system. Our house is just shy of 6k square feet and we get excellent coverage on all three floors with just 3 pucks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kae006 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:53 PM   #5
outlook8
Ten Point
 
outlook8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston
Hunt In: TX
Default

Eero
outlook8 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:53 PM   #6
cattlelackranch
Ten Point
 
cattlelackranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Rockwall
Hunt In: South Texas and Panhandle
Default

Tag
cattlelackranch is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:54 PM   #7
Sethmac
Eight Point
 
Sethmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Keller, TX
Hunt In: Cherokee County
Default

We use ORBI and its great
Sethmac is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:56 PM   #8
IowaHunter
Pope & Young
 
IowaHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Harris County
Hunt In: IA + MA
Default

Eero is what we have at home.
IowaHunter is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:58 PM   #9
tommy1005
Ten Point
 
tommy1005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: Stonewall Co.
Default

Ordering eero with 3 ďextendersĒ for my house. Friends have all made the switch and completely got rid of dead spots in similar sized houses to yours
tommy1005 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 06:58 PM   #10
AMK
Ten Point
 
AMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montgomery, TX
Hunt In: Pittsburg County, OK
Default

Yes. I am very pleased with my Netgear Nighthawk Mesh WiFi 6. It was a little rough before the last firmware update, but works very well now and on sale for $200 at Costco (1 Base and 2 Nodes).

I was not impressed with the Google Nest WiFi, returned it, and bought the TP Link Deco X60 (also WiFi 6) for my Mom’s house and am so far impressed (only had it a week). BTW, the only reason I didn’t buy another Nighthawk Mesh system is bec/ of prices of each at the time I bought it.
AMK is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 07:06 PM   #11
riverbowman
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Highland Village, TX
Default

I hear great things about eero and orbi from people who have them. Just bought the eero pro system but haven’t set it up yet
riverbowman is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 07:08 PM   #12
Black Ice
Pope & Young
 
Black Ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Hunt In: Jefferson & Brooks County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zr2chevy22 View Post
We are using the Linksys Velop with 3 nodes and covering 3/4 of an acre area with no problems has both attached and unattached buildings

Thatís what I have but 3 wouldnít cut it so I bought another 2. One more would have probably done it but they didnít sell them one at a time that I saw at Best Buy. Lots of walls and doors in between my media closet upstairs and the other side of my house. I also didnít want them visible so Iíve got them behind closed doors in cabinets, pantry, and closets. Seems to be working well now that I donít have people shutting my breakers off everyday working on my security system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Black Ice is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 07:21 PM   #13
ny bowhunter
Ten Point
 
ny bowhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Hunt In: Ohio, Kentucky (New York pre 2009)
Default

+1 for eero. 2900 square foot home on two levels. Base unit/router and 3 extenders. Works way better than our former Netgear router on its own. Simple as could be to set up.
ny bowhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 07:23 PM   #14
sandhillhunter
Six Point
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: DFW
Hunt In: Taylor County, TX and New Mexico
Default

I have the Google Mesh system with 3 stations. 3 years old and it is starting to slow down.

Thinking about switching to another system now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sandhillhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 07:32 PM   #15
PlanoDano
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Plano
Hunt In: TX, ID, CO
Default

I do it a little different. My house was wired with Co-Ax cable. The router supplied by my provider already had the ability to run MoCa 2.0. I bought 2 other Moca transceivers and 2 wireless routers.configured routers with the same SSIDs, put in fixed ip addresses which I configured as static in the main router. Disabled Dhcp on the new routers and set all routers to non-conflicting freq. I am plugging some computers and printers directly to the routers via ethernet. Everything else in the house is covered by Wi-Fi from the 3 routers. Much better coverage for under half the price of wireless mesh.
PlanoDano is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 09:07 PM   #16
Throwin Darts
Pope & Young
 
Throwin Darts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Aledo
Default

I have google WiFi. 3 pucks. Works great in our house


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Throwin Darts is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 09:09 PM   #17
MetalMan2004
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Default

In for later
MetalMan2004 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 09:45 PM   #18
KyleW
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Allen/Lubbock
Hunt In: Gordon TX
Default

Orbi is top of the line. I tested several others out and got the fastest speed with the Orbi.
KyleW is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 10:39 PM   #19
BigL
Pope & Young
 
BigL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Round Rock
Hunt In: San Saba
Default

Good suggestions on here. Most are wifi5 and the wifi6 is out but most are really expensive.
If you want wifi6, check out ASUS ZenWiFi AX Whole-Home Tri-Band Mesh WiFi 6 System (XT8). One of the better priced wifi6 mesh systems and has some of the better security and parental controls out of all the devices. Security and parental controls are free for the life of the router instead of a monthly subscription that the others require.

Last edited by BigL; 11-26-2020 at 11:19 PM.
BigL is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 10:54 PM   #20
No-Tox
Ten Point
 
No-Tox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Rockwall County
Hunt In: Ellis County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMK View Post
Yes. I am very pleased with my Netgear Nighthawk Mesh WiFi 6. It was a little rough before the last firmware update, but works very well now and on sale for $200 at Costco (1 Base and 2 Nodes).

I was not impressed with the Google Nest WiFi, returned it, and bought the TP Link Deco X60 (also WiFi 6) for my Momís house and am so far impressed (only had it a week). BTW, the only reason I didnít buy another Nighthawk Mesh system is bec/ of prices of each at the time I bought it.
This is what I have and no problems, plus it has a handy nighthawk app.
No-Tox is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-26-2020, 11:06 PM   #21
Codypatt1
Ten Point
 
Codypatt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Terrell / Poetry
Hunt In: SE OK
Default

Orbi works great for us. I get excellent WiFi even at our garden which is 50 yards away from the house to run my Rachio. No more dead zones in our house or garage
Codypatt1 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-27-2020, 09:36 AM   #22
Casey
Administrator
 
Casey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bulverde
Hunt In: Frio, Blanco Counties
Default

I have a new netgear nighthawk router and want to get mesh going. I have a couple ubiquiti APs but just staying frustrated with latest performance. Should I stick with netgear products or use one of the other recommended options?

I'll hang up and listen.
Casey is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-27-2020, 09:48 AM   #23
trophy8
Pope & Young
 
trophy8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Georgetown Texas
Default

I have an Orbi system with 2 satellite routers. Works like a champ!
trophy8 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-27-2020, 03:03 PM   #24
No-Tox
Ten Point
 
No-Tox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Rockwall County
Hunt In: Ellis County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey View Post
I have a new netgear nighthawk router and want to get mesh going. I have a couple ubiquiti APs but just staying frustrated with latest performance. Should I stick with netgear products or use one of the other recommended options?

I'll hang up and listen.
The netgear nighthawk mesh 6 works well for me.
No-Tox is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-27-2020, 04:19 PM   #25
kgrutzmacher
Eight Point
 
kgrutzmacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tomball
Hunt In: Crockett, TX / Rocksprings, TX / Public Land
Default

Went through NetGear > Orbi > and then to Eero.

Eero is solid and very easy to customize.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
kgrutzmacher is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-27-2020, 06:11 PM   #26
AMK
Ten Point
 
AMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montgomery, TX
Hunt In: Pittsburg County, OK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey View Post
I have a new netgear nighthawk router and want to get mesh going. I have a couple ubiquiti APs but just staying frustrated with latest performance. Should I stick with netgear products or use one of the other recommended options?

I'll hang up and listen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by No-Tox View Post
The netgear nighthawk mesh 6 works well for me.
+1 and especially if you can get it for $200.
AMK is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com