Bow suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bow suggestions

My wife surprised me with a custom longbow. Love it, but I'm a newbie and at 55# it's a bit much to put the practice in. I got tendinitis pretty bad from shooting it a lot. I want something I can practice, shoot 3D etc. I want good equipment. Doesn't mean it has to be expensive. Leaning toward recurves for some reason. Are they easier to start with? Looked at sage, grizzly and Martin hunter recurves. Based on reviews. Kinda like the new satori, could change limbs and poundages with that. Obviously I'm completely undecided. Just want something in 40# range that I can shoot a lot. I'm 29" draw. That would put me at 42 1/2#. Thanks!

Well,

if you're just wanting to get into it and it doesn't have to be expensive, the sage is a great bow. IF you want an ILF bow(the satori is), you could look at a hoyt excel riser and some black max limbs from lancaster archery. But $450 for just a riser would be a pretty large price for me.

Comment

To begin with, learn with and train with, the Sage is a good bow. At 62" it should fit your draw. I would recommend probably not over 35# to begin with. Work on the form. If you already are having tendonitis issues, I might go lighter to 25# or 30#. You can purchase heavier limbs as you advance and always return to the lighter limbs for training and form work. Don't underestimate what a light draw bow can do for you. You do not want to be overbowed when you first start out or really anytime.

Comment

Yeah, it is expensive. But, I don't mind paying for quality And something that I can do it all with. Practice, 3D and hunt.

Comment

Buy the Sage in your weight. You can get it or the new version that I forget the name of already from 3 Rivers Archery or Southwest Archery Supply. If you don't bang it around and keep it nice I'll give you $100 for it when you upgrade in a few months. You can buy them for $140 and sometimes get free shipping.

Comment