Woodturning thread.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Woodturning thread.

Lets start a woodturning thread. Everyone is welcome from never turning with questions to highly experienced. Let's keep things polite, remember we all do things a little different and can learn from each other. Share a little knowledge of how you turned or are turning the items you share, this is a DIY thread of "how to" things. Who knows, you might inspire someone else? I would ask we follow the rules and keep the selling on the classifieds or take care of that through private messages, please don't post asking for prices or "Pm sent". If you are a turner post a little about your experience level and maybe a little about your work shop, but remember to share some DIY knowledge in the post.

I've been turning for about three years now and enjoy turning bowls the most, I can do spindle work but like bowls better. I just recently moved from a 12X24 shop to a 24X30 and I'm still trying tools in different locations and setting up the shop. I have a JET 1642 and a Powermatic 3520B. Here is a Bradford Pear "chip n dip" platter I did several months back, and a video of Antler rings I did this past month, with a basic "how to" explanation.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4065.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	110.6 KB
ID:	24638248
    [ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PILarJoMexQ"]Antler ring turning - YouTube[/ame]

Comment

That’s an amazing platter!! I’ll round up some pics of past projects and post up.

Comment

Cool idea, Matt. In to learn!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

I have only ever turned one thing in wood. I was originally trying to make a bowl out of a piece of walnut, but I kept messing up. In the end, I came up with a salt cellar.

Comment

Started turning this year. I love bowls as well, first was a total blow up. That was interesting, thank God I took a friends advice about face shield. Here are my second and third attempt with raw mesquite.