Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2022, 08:35 AM   #1
TexaRican
Pope & Young
 
TexaRican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury
Default GFCI problem

Ok, contractor ran a saw while I was gone this week from my front porch outlet and blew it. We have searched the house 10 times over and canít find a reset outlet for it. Same circuit as the master bath and all the outlets there are out. There obviously should be a reset outlet in the master bath but there is not. We have 2 in the garage and 1 in the kitchen.

Son of the previous owner claimed to be a pro house flipper and did a 6 month remodel before we bought. I have found lots of really amateur work but I canít fathom someone could be stupid enough to wall-in an outlet. There must be another answer here.
Reset all breakers twice now so that is not it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TexaRican is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 08:37 AM   #2
tps7742
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Texas
Hunt In: East tx
Default

I am assuming you looked inside and out for the resets? In the garage outlets also? The reason I am asking one of my gfci resets is in my garage. I have had them kick it off in the main breaker bloc also.
tps7742 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 08:46 AM   #3
Stan R
Pope & Young
 
Stan R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Madisonville
Hunt In: Madison and Colorado County
Default

Something under the bath or kitchen sink


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Stan R is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 08:48 AM   #4
Quackerbox
Pope & Young
 
Quackerbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Magnolia
Hunt In: The woods
Default

In a sofit for Christmas lights?

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
Quackerbox is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 08:54 AM   #5
FLASH_OUTDOORS
Pope & Young
 
FLASH_OUTDOORS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tomball
Hunt In: Davy Crockett National Forest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan R View Post
Something under the bath or kitchen sink


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

This, check closets, upper and lower cabinets, bathroom plug closest to the panel, etc. They could have hid it anywhere.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
FLASH_OUTDOORS is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:14 AM   #6
TexaRican
Pope & Young
 
TexaRican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury
Default

Have torn the house apart. I've seen them hidden before so I'm looking everywhere. As stated, there are 2 in the garage but neither work for this circuit. Have not thought about the sofit comment so I'll go look there.
TexaRican is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:18 AM   #7
Greenheadless
Pope & Young
 
Greenheadless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Hunt In: Liberty County
Default

Check for a GFCI breaker in your load center as well.

How do you know it is a GFCI circuit?

Last edited by Greenheadless; 06-05-2022 at 09:20 AM.
Greenheadless is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:19 AM   #8
flywise
Pope & Young
 
flywise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tx
Hunt In: Blanco, Nacadoches,NewMexico,Colorado
Default

Attic
flywise is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:19 AM   #9
BolilloLoco
Pope & Young
 
BolilloLoco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cypress
Hunt In: Old Mexico, Washington County & Trinity County
Default

They might have put outlet in ceiling, inside light fixture, up high on wall or another location on outside of house. Maybe near water softener. Maybe it’s not GFCI protected.
BolilloLoco is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:24 AM   #10
Bill
Pope & Young
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bozeman, MT
Hunt In: Montana
Default

Gfci combined with the 20 amp breaker in your distribution panel. Look there. There will be test and reset buttons on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:24 AM   #11
Walker
Pope & Young
 
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio
Default

May sound dumb but have you checked you breakers/fuse box
Walker is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:28 AM   #12
TexaRican
Pope & Young
 
TexaRican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury
Default

Iím a big dummy. Went back to the breaker box for one more run through. Instead of just flipping to on, I pushed the red test to trip and then reclosed on the GFI breakers. That fixed it.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TexaRican is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:41 AM   #13
Bill
Pope & Young
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bozeman, MT
Hunt In: Montana
Default

Not dumb. Glad you found it.

When I did home handyman work I had a homeowner with a gfci outlet in a hallway tripping- pretty random. Turned out somebody put one there to connect to the load side for a sump pump. The pump motor connection had a small leak, tripping it.

Live and learn.

Go shoot your bow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 09:48 AM   #14
db@100
Ten Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Well, you just cheated an electrician out of an overtime service call. He could have come out and did the same thing and charged ya $150.00.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 12:22 PM   #15
sasqy
Ten Point
 
sasqy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: on Salt Creek
Hunt In: my Sasquatch Suit
Default

Could be anywhere on any circuit !
Will prob be first in line closest to panel.
sasqy is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2022, 01:32 PM   #16
tps7742
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Texas
Hunt In: East tx
Default

Great! learning your house sometimes has its growing pains. Been there done that myself.
tps7742 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com