Protein feeder ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Protein feeder ?

This is my first year to put out a protein feeder, put it out on Feb.6th went and pulled cards Thursday and feeder was still full and not one pic of deer eating out of it, the tubes are 40'' from ground, am I to high off of ground, any helpful comments. Lease is in Jermyn.

God Bless
    Bish

pic
    Attached Files

Comment

40” is on the higher side but still in the range of proper height. About 36-42 is good some people have more strict preference. It will take the deer a while to get used to actually eating g out of a feeder. You can try mixes by the protein with corn until they get used to it and make the transition. Be patient they should figure it out in time.

Comment

Maybe mix some corn in with it moving forward. Sometimes it takes awhile for them to start eating it.

Comment

40” is ideal height. Don’t change that.
          Have these deer ever been fed protein?
          Are any deer eating the corn?

Comment

Yes there in pics eating corn, turned time down to 1sec. on corn feeder, they are all around protein but just not eating at all, like I said feeder was still at the top full of pellets.

God Bless

Comment

Give it time....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

throw some corn up in the chutes.

Comment

I always suggest to customers who are starting a feeding station to put a bag of corn in the protein feeder first and then put protein on top of it. It’s not a matter of getting them to eat protein... it’s a matter of getting them to stick their nose in a box or tube to eat anything...

Throwing the corn (which they are already used to) out on the ground and having straight protein in the free choice feeder is like asking a 3-year old if they want to eat M&M’s off of the floor or broccoli at the kitchen table...

...��

Comment