Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! Shots randomly WAY off

Guys I really need some help!

Arrows are randomly dropping, in a consistent manner, 16-18 inches below the bull.

And I just know good and well I'm going to have a big buck in my sites and it's going to do this to me right then.

Backstory:
    I've been shooting pretty consistently for the past three years.
    I started off with a recurve and was determined to master the darned thing and got pretty good but decided last year it would be more ethical of me to take what I learned in terms of form and what not and apply that to a compound bow.

I bare shaft tuned and got the thing super accurate out to 30 yards.

Biggest thing I've learned is to hold the bow super light and let it do it's thing so I don't torque the shot.

I can shoot nock busting tight groups.

HOWEVER!!!

From time to time, and completely at random, a shot will drop 14-18 inches below the target.
    And it's consistent in terms of where the arrow hits down there.
    It's so consistent in fact that I've stuck an arrow in the end of another in that spot way below my target.
    I've got a picture to prove it.

When it happens:
    • Completely at random
    • with fletching or bare shaft
    • Any range
    • I can hit 2 tight bulls then it drops one. (I generally only practice with 3 arrows)
    • I can shoot 20 or so times perfectly with perfect form and nothing happens. Then, with the same form it will happen twice in 5 shots then not again the rest of the session.

I've been in IT for 25 years so troubleshooting is sorta my thing.
    But this one has got me stumped and supper frustrated.

OK, here's my gear.
    (nothing fancy)

Bow:
    • Bear Cruiser RTH 64#
    • 26.5 draw length
    • Trigger release
    • Kisser button
    • peep site

Adult Arrows:
    • 400 spine cut to 28'
    • 200gr brass insert
    • 150gr field points
    • 4 fletch with slight offset
    • Total arrow weight 620gr