truck antifreeze question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

truck antifreeze question

my truck is an 09 .. over the years it's been topped off with fresh antifreeze ..

with forecast around 3 degrees on Monday , am i risking a cracked engine block or radiator failure ?

should i get the antifreeze replaced right away ? would a jiffy lube do a good job ?

yes i'm an amateur mechanic

If it has always been filled with antifreeze and not water then I would not worry about it.

Comment

Why take a chance. Antifreeze change is cheap insurance.

Comment

Get an antifreeze tester and check it.

Comment

i have a jug in the garage .. i could always pull the plug and refill but i think there are issues with that too about getting air in the system and overheating

Comment

I remember here at the shop, and at my dad's house, every year when the first ~20 degree cold snap was forecasted...we broke out the antifreeze tester and checked all the forklifts, trucks, tractors, etc. The ones that had been worked on over the summer sometimes needed extra antifreeze, but I bet we havn't had to add antifreeze to anything since '09-'10. The systems are better, the antifreeze is better, and they don't overheat like they used to, causing us to add water in the summer.

I wouldn't worry about it, we don't even check them anymore.

If you're worried about it, you can get an antifreeze tester at the Vato Zone for 6 bucks.

Comment

Originally posted by Dale Moser View Post
              I remember here at the shop, and at my dad's house, every year when the first ~20 degree cold snap was forecasted...we broke out the antifreeze tester and checked all the forklifts, trucks, tractors, etc. The ones that had been worked on over the summer sometimes needed extra antifreeze, but I bet we havn't had to add antifreeze to anything since '09-'10. The systems are better, the antifreeze is better, and they don't overheat like they used to, causing us to add water in the summer.