Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sam Houston tree stand.

Hey gentlemen,

I’m hoping to do my first public land hunting this year in Sam Houston but I’m a total novice when it comes to deer stands. Only hunting I’ve ever gotten to do was out of towers on private land.

What should I be looking for? My neighbor uses a climber but I’m something of a fatbody (6’ 225lb) so I’m thinking climbing sticks might be better for me.

Money is also an issue, not rolling in cash so this”ll be an investment for me. Is there a place to look for used equipment that’s better than others?

Thanks for any advice.

I’ve done a fair amount of public land hunting and if you leave anything in there like a lock on or climbing sticks some one else will hunt it and steal it. I’m a little on the large side ov average 6 ft 235 I have a couple climbers.The most comfortable and stable is the Big boy from academy.I can carry it in and out or hide it in some heavy brush.

Comment

My plan is to set up night before and camp a little ways away from my spot, mostly because of the theft possibility. I’ve been scouting some pretty remote areas on the west side of 45 and found 2 that seem like a decent possibility. Still trying to pin down the legalities of the areas I found. One has a “payment unit” sign about a quarter mile from it and I haven’t figured out what that means yet.

Comment

I’ve been bigger than you all my life and I hunted out of climbers for years. Their downside is that they are noisy, but just get up in your tree long before daylight and you’ll be ine. I agree not to leave anything on public.

Comment

You can only camp in designated campgrounds. Bring your climber in and hide it. I also chain mine to a tree near the tree I'm using.

Comment

Originally posted by Shotgunner11 View Post