Best Pool Filter System?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Pool Filter System?

I have a question for the pool gurus. I’m currently using a Hayward Swimclear cartridge filter system that was with the pool when we bought the house about a year ago. I’m not sure how old it is but its been leaky from day 1 for me. Last night I noticed it had a small spray coming from the bottom of the housing while running the hot tub so now I’m researching replacement systems.

What’s the best filter system to replace it with? It seems like it’s a toss up between cartridge filter and DE systems from what I’ve read. What are the pros/cons of each? Am I better off sticking with a cartridge system? I’m a rookie when it comes to this pool stuff so any advice is much appreciated

Details about pool - in ground pool, 17,500 gal, chlorine system, large mature live oak hovers over the pool so lots of leaves & pollen this time of year

We primarily use 420 & 520 Pentair Clean & Clear Plus cartridge filters on our new builds. Every now and then, someone will request a sand filter or DE but otherwise we stick to the cartridge filters.

Comment

I don't think there is any "best". The better makers from all types - DE, Sand, Cartridge will all work fine as long as the pool is continually maintained including proper chemicals. My past pool cleaning systems have all been at least 50% oversized/over capacity and that helps if you get behind on your maintenance. I've run in-line mineral filters and a slime bag in the past and those both helped "polish" the water. I also like the robot pool cleaners.

Comment

Originally posted by Pineywoods View Post
        We primarily use 420 & 520 Pentair Clean & Clear Plus cartridge filters on our new builds. Every now and then, someone will request a sand filter or DE but otherwise we stick to the cartridge filters.

Any particular reason for that? Or is it just an easier system to maintain?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment