Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Another contractor problem/advice thread

I need some help folks.

I’ve been teaching construction for 20 years and have always done everything I need around the house. At 61, I decided I was going to let someone else help. I hired a guy/crew to install 2- 20x50 awnings on my shop. He gave me a price and I agreed to it. He wanted half down and although I was weary, I did it. We discussed extensively how it was going to be done and in a few days he bought the framing materials. Last Monday he started.

Day 1- he digs holes 2.5 feet deep for the footings. I say not deep enough and he tells me that was the deal. I explain a 1000 sq ft awning at the top of a 30 acre pasture needs deeper footing. He turns his back on me and starts working. I explain ignoring me ain’t going to make me go away. After some arguing I tell him pack his stuff and leave even though I’m underwater on the job. After a little more discussion, I agree to pay for an auger rental and extra concrete. BTW, I wanted 4’ deep. My deck is 2.5’ deep in the ground.

Day 2- I help dig the holes with his crew. Ground was hard and the auger wouldn’t cut it. We get them dug and set so I leave him alone. He pours the concrete and puts in posts but leaves the concrete 1’ down from ground level with no rebar or wire to hold when the rest is poured.