Home solar salesmen?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Home solar salesmen?

Geez... Anyone been approached by these guys? I assume the ones that was around trying to set up free quick consults get paid per meeting they set up?

Right up front I was rude and said NOT interested AT ALL.. He started blabbing asking how I could not be interested at all.. I flat said "Because it's a scam and rip-off and doesn't work"

Then he wanted to discuss I told him to leave. Of course he had to get in more words like..to see how much money you will save..blah blah..

Is solar, for Texans anywhere close to being viable? Is there any chance at all one could save money over the long term?

The Same sales people sell Solar and Extended Vehicle warranties!

Comment

I'm no expert on it. I've not looked into it in great detail, because I stopped at the first glance at the numbers. Best case numbers I've seen show it takes about 20 years to recoup your initial costs. Not really cost effective. But if your goal is to be self-sufficient and capable of being off the grid and all of that, then maybe it's worth the cost for you. You need to be connected to the grid to sell your excess power back to the power company to get to break-even though. Maybe it'll get cheaper and more efficient eventually. Right now it doesn't look like something I'd spend a bunch of money on though.

Comment

Originally posted by RiverRat1 View Post
        Geez... Anyone been approached by these guys? I assume the ones that was around trying to set up free quick consults get paid per meeting they set up?

Right up front I was rude and said NOT interested AT ALL.. He started blabbing asking how I could not be interested at all.. I flat said "Because it's a scam and rip-off and doesn't work"

Then he wanted to discuss I told him to leave. Of course he had to get in more words like..to see how much money you will save..blah blah..