Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Equipment and Tuning
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2018, 10:15 AM   #1
HDWRENCH
Eight Point
 
HDWRENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Keller
Hunt In: Cisco, San Juan
Angry Slick Trick viper trick= rattling junk

So I have shot the standard 4 bald broad head and they are great .
After adding weight to my arrows and hunting elk I want to try a broad head that would penetrate further .

So with that said I have bought 6 they all rattle , yes washer in place put them on 4 different brands of arrows. ST sent me 6 more they are worse than the first 6 I bought . After hearing that warranty will no longer return my messages . That is too bad really .

Here is a short video sorry I had to hold phone and shoot video at same time .

I would suggest that other do not buy this model

https://www.dropbox.com/s/d2y682k2bs..._3056.MOV?dl=0
HDWRENCH is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 10:30 AM   #2
LUCKY AGAIN
Ten Point
 
LUCKY AGAIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MESQUITE, TX
Hunt In: WHERE EVER I CAN
Default

I realize it isn't right but i bet a little bow wax in the right places would get them quite enough to use.
LUCKY AGAIN is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 10:38 AM   #3
HDWRENCH
Eight Point
 
HDWRENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Keller
Hunt In: Cisco, San Juan
Default

I did try that the blades are way too loose for that , I was able to get 3 of them to stop rattling by wrapping a small piece of Teflon tape around the ferrule and then slide the washer down and tighten it up .

But the point is this should NOT be an issue , this is nothing more than pure lack of QC plain and simple
HDWRENCH is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 10:39 AM   #4
D u s t y
Ten Point
 
D u s t y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arlington
Hunt In: Any were i can
Default

Are the blades to short? Or what happens if you put a second feral under it just out of curiosity. Wonder if there not seating far enough into your insert
D u s t y is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 10:54 AM   #5
LUCKY AGAIN
Ten Point
 
LUCKY AGAIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MESQUITE, TX
Hunt In: WHERE EVER I CAN
Default

You are right, it shouldn't happen.
LUCKY AGAIN is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 12:01 PM   #6
agwrestler
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Worth
Hunt In: LBJ, Grapevine and Lake Meredith Nat. Rec.
Default

Sometimes they have a radius on the backside of the ferrule >>>>>> The leading edge of the washer hits this radius and never allows the face of the washer to press against the blades.

The washers have a little stamping curve to them like this: )

Put the curve of the washer towards the blades |\
.................................................. ............... |/

Picture with text:


) |\
>>>>
) |/
agwrestler is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 12:08 PM   #7
bsills
Pope & Young
 
bsills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fair Oaks
Hunt In: Maverick County
Default

I had a similar issue and was able to fix it by making sure I had the broad heads screwed in as far as possible.
bsills is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 12:53 PM   #8
HDWRENCH
Eight Point
 
HDWRENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Keller
Hunt In: Cisco, San Juan
Default

I machine and build engine for a living I have tried both ways on the washer trust me they are tight .

Too be clear not looking for a fix Its a machine process they are not following correctly
HDWRENCH is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 12:59 PM   #9
TxAg
Pope & Young
 
TxAg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

I like mine, but I did get a bad batch once. A little rattle and galled threads.
TxAg is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 01:46 PM   #10
Tom
Ten Point
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montgomery
Hunt In: Rocky Mountains, Africa
Default

get some RMS cutthroats and be done with it.
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 08:49 PM   #11
BTLowry
Pope & Young
 
BTLowry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lindale
Hunt In: Behind the house and public in Texas; Kansas Unit 5
Default

That is a shame

Think a rubber o-ring between the washer and back of blades would let you salvage them to shoot?

Company was sold if I remember correctly and I guess the new owners are cutting corners to make more $$$$
BTLowry is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-28-2018, 09:02 PM   #12
Young gun 12
Six Point
 
Young gun 12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Oak Point
Hunt In: NTX
Default

weird, ive shot VT's for 3 years now and havent had that issue a single time. Wonder if they just made a bad batch
Young gun 12 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-29-2018, 10:08 PM   #13
Leon County Slayer
Associate Sponsor
 
Leon County Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston
Hunt In: Camo (Leon County) - Knifemaker<><
Default

I’ve like and have shot the standard st for years with no problems however I am having the same problem you described with the last package I bought. The blades are slightly loose and rattle. Major bummer.
Leon County Slayer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-29-2018, 10:16 PM   #14
critter69
Ten Point
 
critter69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Hunt In: CO and Texas when I can
Default

We have experienced the same thing, gave up on slick tricks and shoot other heads now. The new company does not have the quality control the old owner had. And they don't care. There is a rep on here I believe, wonder why he hasn't chimed in.
critter69 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-29-2018, 10:24 PM   #15
critter69
Ten Point
 
critter69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Hunt In: CO and Texas when I can
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Young gun 12 View Post
weird, ive shot VT's for 3 years now and havent had that issue a single time. Wonder if they just made a bad batch
I believe it would have to be a lot of bad batches, it's that there quality control has gone down the toilet, and they aren't going to do any thing about it, it looks like. Because we had this same thing happen a few years ago, and many people are still having the problem, and thinking it's just a bad batch. I don't think so. We have seen blades brake on some of the newer heads also, they used to be our go to head, but we gave up on them ( sold all the packages I had of them).
critter69 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-30-2018, 08:48 AM   #16
dvinson
Four Point
 
dvinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Henderson, Tx
Default

I just bought some viper tricks. No problems with tight fit
Or Blade movement , , great flight. Love them. Been shooting a bow 30 years. there are only a handful of broadheads on the market that do not do a ton of wind planing.
dvinson is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2018, 07:33 AM   #17
HDWRENCH
Eight Point
 
HDWRENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Keller
Hunt In: Cisco, San Juan
Default

Well I gave up leaving messages with the tech warranty guy. I have 12 heads that rattle , that simple . I plan switch to another brand , Viper trick SS 100 is what I am having issues with . I have 4 or so regular ST that do not rattle that I can still use I will get through this season but will be looking else where next year for sure
HDWRENCH is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2018, 09:45 AM   #18
Leon County Slayer
Associate Sponsor
 
Leon County Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston
Hunt In: Camo (Leon County) - Knifemaker<><
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvinson View Post
I just bought some viper tricks. No problems with tight fit
Or Blade movement , , great flight. Love them. Been shooting a bow 30 years. there are only a handful of broadheads on the market that do not do a ton of wind planing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDWRENCH View Post
Well I gave up leaving messages with the tech warranty guy. I have 12 heads that rattle , that simple . I plan switch to another brand , Viper trick SS 100 is what I am having issues with . I have 4 or so regular ST that do not rattle that I can still use I will get through this season but will be looking else where next year for sure
I'll be moving along as well with another broadhead. Been shooting ST standard 100's since they came out with no problems until this year and it's a bummer.
Leon County Slayer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2018, 09:51 AM   #19
Iehooligan11b
Ten Point
 
Iehooligan11b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Default

Dang. Just bought two new packs of viper tricks. Haven’t taken them out of the package yet. Guess I’ll hope for the best.
Iehooligan11b is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2018, 07:33 PM   #20
Hammerdown15
Ten Point
 
Hammerdown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pearland
Hunt In: Warren, Tx
Default

Will you be selling them?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hammerdown15 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2018, 09:36 PM   #21
wdtorque
Eight Point
 
wdtorque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default

Dang. Just got some 125s and no rattle? I've heard the same about cutting cost . My bows seem to like 4 blades the best. Like Wacums but they are a PIA to assemble.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
wdtorque is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-08-2018, 08:36 AM   #22
HDWRENCH
Eight Point
 
HDWRENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Keller
Hunt In: Cisco, San Juan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammerdown15 View Post
Will you be selling them?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



I took the GF hot glue gun and let a small amount drip into the ferrel and it stopped them from rattling .

SO provided you set it pre hunt your good, unless you need to swap blades out in the field
HDWRENCH is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-08-2018, 10:07 AM   #23
Hammerdown15
Ten Point
 
Hammerdown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pearland
Hunt In: Warren, Tx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDWRENCH View Post
I took the GF hot glue gun and let a small amount drip into the ferrel and it stopped them from rattling .



SO provided you set it pre hunt your good, unless you need to swap blades out in the field


That was going to be my plan if you were going to get rid of them. Annoying to have to rig it up but glad you got it worked out. Keep a hot glue stick and a lighter in you bag and you can makeshift it in the field if necessary.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hammerdown15 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-08-2018, 10:32 AM   #24
HDWRENCH
Eight Point
 
HDWRENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Keller
Hunt In: Cisco, San Juan
Default

yes I could if I had to I guess but we all know what the real point of this post is about . For the cost of these broad heads this is not what you should have to deal with
HDWRENCH is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com