Heavier arrows?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Heavier arrows?

I've been shooting for several years now, but I'm just now starting to understand tuning. I've shot Beman MFX and Easton Epics the last couple years and I'm considering moving to a heavier arrow for this season. (slower speed/higher energy)

Can anyone give some advice on what combination to try. I'm looking at either the Carbon Express Maxima or Mayhem Hunters. I'll also be moving to a 125gr broadhead, probably Rage or Slick Trick. Any advice is appreciated

Do you like your current arrows?

If so, just add some weight tubes to them. Three Rivers has three different weights, 3 gpi to 8 gpi (I think).

Comment

I was looking at the Carbon Express arrows too until I figured out they were Made in Korea. So I got the Easton FMJ's. Buy american to keep jobs in America!

Comment

I can't comment on the arrows you mentioned, but I will say that if you go to a 125 gr. head, make sure you keep plenty on hand. Unfortunately, most shops/stores only stock 100 gr. heads these days. I usually have to order my 125 gr. Jak Hammers.
        My Flickr Photos

Comment

I like the FMJs

Comment

I shot some FMJ's in my last bow when I first got it and they seemed to hit hard, I guess I could throw them in the mix. They're just so darn expensive

Texastaxi, I am not really impressed with the Bemans or Easton Epics I have used recently.

If it makes any difference, I'm shooting a 28" arrow at 60lb

Comment

Maxima hunters are great arrows. Spine will be based on your draw length and the poundage. With a 125gr head and a 29" draw they should shoot well. Start tuning them at 30" cut length, cut off 1/2" till they tune in center shot.

Comment

you want to go with a good heavy hunting arrow go with FMJs....like others have said they are expensive but well worth it or atleast i think so

Comment

couple ????'s for you guys since you are talking arrows I got some Beman{c2}ICS Hunter