Grouping ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Grouping ?

I'm pretty new to shooting a bow. Usually my groups are w/in 2" @ 20, 3" @ 30. Today they were all ove rhte place. No consistency @ all. Groups @ 30 were average 5 or so inches. I also noticed that when I release my bow goes to the left then right, like a sideways wobble. The top used to dip down in a forward motion. When it does that my shots are great. When it wobbles side-to-side, my groups are awful. What am I doing wrong? How do I fix it? I'm pretty much trying to learn this sport on my own due to time constraints so it's taking me awhile to get it right. Thanks.

How loose is your grip?

Comment

i have no formal training, just alot of trail and error on my part. Sounds like you are fighting your grip. how do you hold your bow?

Comment

yep sounds like torquing. also, make sure you are using a consistent anchor point. those individually or combined can totally mess your shot up

Comment

I'm holding w/the V in my hand & a little w/my thumb & 1st finger. I use the same anchor point every time, which is a spot my release hand sits behind my ear. I'm assuming I'm torqueing it but IDK why I just started doing it?????? Same stance, same anchor point, same grip, same everything?????? The only difference in my last shooting session is my peep is now twisting to the right, which it never did before today. Someone mentioned a loose/worn string. Could this be the culprit in my saga?

Comment

Originally posted by LFD2037 View Post
            Same stance, same anchor point, same grip, same everything??????
            Unlikely that the bow is just all of a sudden shooting all over the place. So, although you think you are doing everything the same, obviously you aren't. Look more closely and find the issue.

Todd

Comment

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JpywGv9Qg6M"]YouTube- Korean Archers - Smooth Executions[/ame]