Bow hogs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bow hogs

Newbie here from Maryland, 2 grown kids and friends are on a bow only lease in Jack County. I've been down 3 times over last 5 years to hog hunt as a guest. We were down just after Christmas and brought some northern freeze with us. New year's eve I was in shorts and tshirt at lunchtime went hunting came back 6 pm to 20 degrees and all pipes frozen in camper and pumphouse. Long story short bucks did the matrix thing for them, kids said they were on EDGE the whole time but these 2 boars paid the price for their frustration. I on other hand am a guest and only allowed hogs so was eat up with deer and a couple nice bucks GO FIGURE! Had sights on a nice eating size boar but my arrow didn't fly true and that's all I'm gonna say bout that! I'm 59 retired cop but broke up from not taking care of myself when younger. Last 6 years had double knee replacement and right acting up and may need redo I KNEW SHUDDA GOT THAT EXTENDED WARRANTY. Both shoulders replaced and tripped on some briars walking out of woods in dark after bowhunting this past Nov. Left is a reversal with audible sounds like marbles in there and it dislocates regularly like almost daily. Xray and CT scan dont identify problem Doc says surgery sooner than later but local hospital on non essential surgery pause for covid so waiting and (bowhunting with DrawLoc). Doc also says it's a guess on what he'll do once in there. I had just started using a light compound this year after a several year absence. Aug 2020 felt short of breath baiting up some deer cams also felt tightness in chest no pain tho. Couple weeks and several tests later had a quadruple heart bypass but no heart attack or heart damage. Bad shot on a pig is no big deal as long as kids had fun, not my first rodeo with bad shots on things with hair or antlers even before my arm and chest excuses. Oh yea almost forgot had mild covid week before Thanksgiving only one in my house vaxxed