Striper fishing Granbury

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Striper fishing Granbury

Ok, after 23 years of almost exclusive saltwater fishing, I'm totally out of my element. Have been out 3 times now on Granbury and have yet to catch a fish.

Saturday the wind was schedule to lay down finally so I took my daughter out around 8am. No birds working at all and no other boats trolling. Stayed out for a very cold 2 hours then took her in and got on my buddy's boat for another 3 hours. Fishfinder was showing fish all over the lake at depths from 24 to 38 feet. We used a down rigger as well as Davis Fish Seekers to troll at multiple depths, alternated speed and lure color to no avail. Not a single bite. Again, zero other boats trolling so what does everybody else know that I don't? I know people were out catching them just a couple of weeks ago.

Any good resources for learning this sport?

I have zero stripper fishing knowledge but if I was in salt water and was marking fish on troll with no knockdowns I’d drop a live bait on top of them.

Comment

For the most part trolling in winter for stripers is truly an art thus the reason you don’t see Striper fisherman trolling . Live bait always produces and easier to keep alive. Shad is best but Jumbo shiners will catch them also. You can also deadstick. Basically drop a fluke type bait on a 1/4 ounce jig down to the fish and just hold the rod still. The bite will be like a crappie bite most times. Winter time is thumping time. That will call the fish in and get them going. If I can find a topo map of grandbury I will tell you where I would start. I don’t know how many thousands of stripers/whites I’ve caught but I learned how to catch them

Comment

Originally posted by TexaRican View Post
        Ok, after 23 years of almost exclusive saltwater fishing, I'm totally out of my element. Have been out 3 times now on Granbury and have yet to catch a fish.