Frying Pan River Fly Fishing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Frying Pan River Fly Fishing

Headed up to Colorado the first week of August to camp at the Chapman Dam Campground with my wife, son, and my older brother. Anybody do any fly fishing on the stretch of the Frying Pan north of Ruedi Reservoir? This section is not “gold medal” but should still hold a good amount of fish. South of Ruedi is the start of gold medal waters down into Basalt where it joins the Roaring Fork river.

Any tips on patterns for that time of year? Im fairly new to fly fishing trout streams. Mostly panfish and bass here in Texas.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I didn't fish but I Elk hunted the area last year.. pretty country .

Comment

Originally posted by jds247 View Post
      I didn't fish but I Elk hunted the area last year.. pretty country .

Very much so. Camped at the same campground back in 2009 before i started fly fishing. Saw elk, mule deer, and moose all from camp. Neat area.

Comment

I've fished it several times, but always below the res. Further down you go is pocket water, but still a lot of excellent water. That time of year you should do well on caddis and hoppers as well as the usual hopper/dropper rigs.

Comment

I've always fished the toilet bowl in cold weather. I hear its lake fishing above there is where its at in the summer.

Comment

I always go to the local fly shop and ask them what is working and then have them sell it to me. That way they feel better about giving out information.

I almost always have something like a grasshopper or stimulator on top with something similar to a beaded hairs ear nymph below. Sometimes I run two droppers (18" and 36") below depending upon the water depth. I like the flashback on the nymphs. Most of my fish are caught on the droppers.

Comment

Originally posted by stinkbelly View Post