Brown Patch - How to prevent?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brown Patch - How to prevent?

My yard struggles with Brown Patch every year.

Does anyone put out a preventative that keeps it from even starting?

I have searched and read some, basically keeping Nitrogen at a low level, (i.e. don't over fertilize) and not overwatering are two ways to help reduce the odds.

Looking for some real world experience before I start spending money on snake oil.

Thanks.

Nitro-phos has is a very good fungicide at ACE hardware. I use it yearly as soon as I see it, but never used as a prevention tool.

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

Comment

Top dressing the lawn with compost should help.

Comment

In my family, I am known as Nature’s mortician. In fact, I’ve even had a silk plant wither and die. So to say I’m no expert in lawn care and maintenance is putting it mildly. However, I do love to dabble in the natural sciences and it is this realm that I began to wonder whether your brown patches were caused by a pathogen (rather than, say, an infestation) and, if so, what kind. And based on your comment about nitrogen, I wondered what, if any, the role of pH might play in its cause and mitigation. As it turns out, I may have been onto something.

I think the article contained at the link below does a far better job at explaining your brown patch problem—its symptoms, its causes, and its treatments—than I ever could (remember the dead silk plant), so please check it out.

Last edited by ThisLadyHunts; 04-02-2021, 08:04 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Landrover View Post
          Nitro-phos has is a very good fungicide at ACE hardware. I use it yearly as soon as I see it, but never used as a prevention tool.

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk
          Thanks for this, I am finding most of these fungicides require treatments every 2 to 4 weeks.