Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2019, 07:30 PM   #1
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default Ford SYNC 3 lagging problems

Is anyone else having issues with their Ford SYNC 3 radio system locking up or real slow to respond? Mine will have a 10 to 20 second delay on answering a phone call. I deleted my phone and turned off the bluetooth to see if that was the issue but i still have a problem changing the radio. What have you done to fix the issue if you have had one?
2018 F150.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 07:37 PM   #2
boy wonder
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brock
Hunt In: The river
Default

I also have a 2018, but no issue with SYNC.
boy wonder is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 07:46 PM   #3
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Well, I hope you don't. My doesn't work worth a dang. When the GPS is giving a voice direction, it will lock up mid sentence and I may be past the turn before it completes the direction. Turn up the radio, I press the volume button and nothing will happen. I will press it again and after a few seconds the volume will go up loud. It's like a computer when it doesn't have enough memory, everything moves real slow.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 07:56 PM   #4
doublearrow
Ten Point
 
doublearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midland, Texas
Default

Had a 2016 f250 for a while. Had to pull the fuse regularly (once a week to once a month) to get the radio/sync to work correctly. "Normal" according to 2 dealerships.
doublearrow is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 07:59 PM   #5
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doublearrow View Post
Had a 2016 f250 for a while. Had to pull the fuse regularly (once a week to once a month) to get the radio/sync to work correctly. "Normal" according to 2 dealerships.
So pulling and replacing the fuse made it work correctly for a week or so?
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:01 PM   #6
doublearrow
Ten Point
 
doublearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midland, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
So pulling and replacing the fuse made it work correctly for a week or so?
Yes sir
doublearrow is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:03 PM   #7
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

I'll that a try tomorrow. Were you having the same issues?
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:18 PM   #8
Milkfisher
Six Point
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Ford guy here. Sync sucks.
Car play for the win.
Milkfisher is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:19 PM   #9
Samson
Ten Point
 
Samson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Hunt In: Willow City, Travis County
Default

Have you tried updating it?

https://www.highlandford.com/blog/ho...g-a-usb-drive/

If you keep up with updates on your phone, then you should do the same with your sync system.

Sent from my TA-1004 using Tapatalk
Samson is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:22 PM   #10
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samson View Post
Have you tried updating it?

https://www.highlandford.com/blog/ho...g-a-usb-drive/

If you keep up with updates on your phone, then you should do the same with your sync system.

Sent from my TA-1004 using Tapatalk
Yes, I have done all the updates. Ford's website shows that the truck is up to date.
It is on 3.0 and was done by usb.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:23 PM   #11
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milkfisher View Post
Ford guy here. Sync sucks.
Car play for the win.
Would this require a new radio or just new software?
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:38 PM   #12
doublearrow
Ten Point
 
doublearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midland, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
I'll that a try tomorrow. Were you having the same issues?
Slow, wouldn't connect, freeze up, or wouldnt come on at all are some of the issues.
doublearrow is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:40 PM   #13
Take Dead Aim
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FBG
Default

They had to replace the brains on mine to fix issue. It was obviously a common issue as it was on 4 week backorder.
Take Dead Aim is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:46 PM   #14
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
Would this require a new radio or just new software?


Car play is an app within the Sync 3 system. It wonít help with Sync software issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 08:56 PM   #15
rwbrew3
Four Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Highland Village Tx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
Would this require a new radio or just new software?
Carplay works through your phone through the usb, if you have a iPhone or a android you will have CarPlay. Lots of YouTube videos out there that could help ya out.
rwbrew3 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 09:37 PM   #16
bboswell
Pope & Young
 
bboswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montgomery County
Hunt In: Where ever I can
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike D View Post
Car play is an app within the Sync 3 system. It wonít help with Sync software issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


And with it you are stuck with the screwed up Google Map App, sure wish it gave the option to use Apple Maps.
bboswell is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 09:38 PM   #17
rwbrew3
Four Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Highland Village Tx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboswell View Post
And with it you are stuck with the screwed up Google Map App, sure wish it gave the option to use Apple Maps.
It only uses my apple map
rwbrew3 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 09:42 PM   #18
BSOB
Ten Point
 
BSOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hunt In: Junction
Default

You can use Apple Maps, google maps or Waze with car play. No issues here on multiple vehicles using sync or car play.

Last edited by BSOB; 11-30-2019 at 09:44 PM.
BSOB is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-30-2019, 09:55 PM   #19
Tbarron
Spike
 
Tbarron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: McKinney, TX
Default

2016 F150. Iíve had my whole entire unit replaced 3 times now. Ford covered it, but just a constant PIA


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tbarron is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 12:37 AM   #20
Reelthreat
Eight Point
 
Reelthreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cestohowa
Default

My wife's 2017 navigator had that issue... took it in and they said they flashed the hard drive and updated sync. Been all good since that issue. It happened when it sat for a long time and the battery drained.
Reelthreat is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 08:29 AM   #21
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

When Ford replaced the parts, was it done under warranty? How much did it cost? My truck has 50,000 miles on it and is out of warranty.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 10:16 AM   #22
Take Dead Aim
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FBG
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
When Ford replaced the parts, was it done under warranty? How much did it cost? My truck has 50,000 miles on it and is out of warranty.
If memory serves correct. It was $1300 for the part alone. Mine was under warranty so it was covered.
Take Dead Aim is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 11:29 AM   #23
speck1
Ten Point
 
speck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boerne, Tx.
Hunt In: Hill Country
Default

Mine started to lag about 2 months ago. Updated it to the 3.0 but itís still doing it. Drives me crazy. Some days it works fine.
speck1 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 02:00 PM   #24
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speck1 View Post
Mine started to lag about 2 months ago. Updated it to the 3.0 but itís still doing it. Drives me crazy. Some days it works fine.
That sounds just like mine. When it works, it's great but when it doesn't, it's a pain in the back side. If you find a fix, please let me know.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 02:33 PM   #25
Ryanm
Four Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Houston
Hunt In: Nacogdoches, Michigan
Default

Had the same problem on my 2018. It started with a slow delay and eventually became unusable. Dealer had to replace the computer. Might as well get it ordered now because by the time it arrives (3-4 weeks) you won't have a functioning radio. Mine was under warranty fortunately... Hopefully they can help you out.
Ryanm is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 02:44 PM   #26
jmoore2006
Ten Point
 
jmoore2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bridge City, TX
Hunt In: South Texas, Mexico
Default

Need to look at the Tesla style head units a little pricey but no issues so far about 12-14 months in on a work truck we have.
jmoore2006 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 06:23 PM   #27
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryanm View Post
Had the same problem on my 2018. It started with a slow delay and eventually became unusable. Dealer had to replace the computer. Might as well get it ordered now because by the time it arrives (3-4 weeks) you won't have a functioning radio. Mine was under warranty fortunately... Hopefully they can help you out.
I hope Ford will help on the cost. Truck isn't 2 years old yet.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-01-2019, 07:05 PM   #28
Berretta Man
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Temple
Hunt In: Bell Co. Where ever invited
Default

I had same problem and they said it needed up dates. It wouldn’t load them so they replaced the radio. 2018 but it was still under warranty.
Berretta Man is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-02-2019, 10:34 PM   #29
gatt40
Pope & Young
 
gatt40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Hunt In: San Patricio, Mountain Home & wherever
Default

Whenever I try to make a phone call and give the command, it never gets it right. I get so frustrated that I just dial the number
gatt40 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-02-2019, 10:59 PM   #30
Drycreek3189
Pope & Young
 
Drycreek3189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default

Mine had to be replaced under warranty. Nav would lock up and phone wouldn’t work at all on Sync
Drycreek3189 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 06:55 AM   #31
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Well I took mine in Monday. Like y'all said, it is the radio but my truck is out of warranty. It has 49,000 miles. They told me the radio will cost about $1100. and take 3-4 weeks to come in. Doesn't seem like a radio should fail in less than 2 years.
When they replaced your radio, has it worked right? I dang sure don't want to pay all that money for a radio with the same issues.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 07:57 AM   #32
Huntingfool
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

I have a 2016 King Ranch. My screen quit working too - slow to respond, etc. I now have my THIRD module in the radio. First time covered under warranty. Second time I was out of warranty so they tried to charge me $1000 to replace the module again. I said hell no - clearly Ford has an issue with this and should do a recall.

It took lots of time and effort - my dealer was of no help (Mac Haik Georgetown). So I contacted the Ford corporate office and after lots of effort got them to waive the cost. The entire process was an ordeal.

Last edited by Huntingfool; 12-03-2019 at 08:35 AM.
Huntingfool is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 08:07 AM   #33
Arrowflinger84
Ten Point
 
Arrowflinger84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sanger
Hunt In: Spikezilla
Default

I have had no luck with Fords and their electronics. Everyone I know has had issues with them and I am not sure why....
Arrowflinger84 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 11:07 AM   #34
sideways
Ten Point
 
sideways's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

My 2017 f350 has a slow screen drives me crazy everyday just started this nonsense truck has 98k miles


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
sideways is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 12:58 PM   #35
spotsanddots
Ten Point
 
spotsanddots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Portland, Tx
Hunt In: Hill Country
Default

Man, you guys are scaring me. I have a 2018 thats about to be a year old in December. I have about 22,000 miles on it. So far, (knock on wood) no problems. The only issue Ive had so far it the text message notification dinger on the screen has to be always reset or it wont notify my phone that a text was sent. Other than that, (like i said, knock on wood) I havent had any other problems. I dont know what i'd do if i had to spend 1000-1200 on a new radio and computer screen, that takes 4 weeks to get in, then more to have it installed. Hopefully responding to this thread doenst jinx me.
spotsanddots is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 01:11 PM   #36
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntingfool View Post
I have a 2016 King Ranch. My screen quit working too - slow to respond, etc. I now have my THIRD module in the radio. First time covered under warranty. Second time I was out of warranty so they tried to charge me $1000 to replace the module again. I said hell no - clearly Ford has an issue with this and should do a recall.

It took lots of time and effort - my dealer was of no help (Mac Haik Georgetown). So I contacted the Ford corporate office and after lots of effort got them to waive the cost. The entire process was an ordeal.
How long ago and how well has the newest one worked? If you had a 2016 fail and it was replaced with a 2017 version and it failed and now I see a lot of the 2018 are failing, seems like Ford hasn't fixed the issue.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 01:32 PM   #37
sideways
Ten Point
 
sideways's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

My 2012 never had an issue with the screen it had 280k


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
sideways is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 01:34 PM   #38
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sideways View Post
My 2012 never had an issue with the screen it had 280k


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Is your's a SYNC or a SYNC3? Mine is the SYNC3.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 01:36 PM   #39
sideways
Ten Point
 
sideways's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
Is your's a SYNC or a SYNC3? Mine is the SYNC3.


Sync 3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
sideways is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 04:39 PM   #40
bats21
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Hunt In: Van zandt/Menard
Default

I have a 2017 and my sync 3 with navigation totally failed, after getting ford involved, they finally replaced the control head and no issues since then and that was over a year ago
bats21 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 04:56 PM   #41
Drycreek3189
Pope & Young
 
Drycreek3189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
Well I took mine in Monday. Like y'all said, it is the radio but my truck is out of warranty. It has 49,000 miles. They told me the radio will cost about $1100. and take 3-4 weeks to come in. Doesn't seem like a radio should fail in less than 2 years.
When they replaced your radio, has it worked right? I dang sure don't want to pay all that money for a radio with the same issues.
Mine has not hiccuped since the part was replaced, but I donít think they replaced the entire radio.
Drycreek3189 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 05:05 PM   #42
SAC
Ten Point
 
SAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Weimar,TX
Hunt In: Lavaca, Fayette & Colorado Co.
Default

Accessory Protocall Interface Module (APIM). This is not the screen itself. Controls everything in center stack. Sometimes a hour battery disconnect can resolve the issue. Other times the module has to be replaced. Usually they can be had in 2-3 days.
SAC is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 05:07 PM   #43
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Well, I'm not sure if they will replace my whole radio or just the bad part. I just hope whatever they do will fix it and not just patch it for a year or so.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-03-2019, 05:12 PM   #44
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAC View Post
Accessory Protocall Interface Module (APIM). This is not the screen itself. Controls everything in center stack. Sometimes a hour battery disconnect can resolve the issue. Other times the module has to be replaced. Usually they can be had in 2-3 days.
Planet Ford had my truck in the back for about 3 hours. I'm sure they weren't just working on my truck but they had it long enough to disconnect the battery and test the APIM. Planet Ford is who told me the part needed to be replaced. They have ordered it and told me it would take 3-4 weeks. That's what they told me.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2019, 09:00 AM   #45
Huntingfool
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
How long ago and how well has the newest one worked? If you had a 2016 fail and it was replaced with a 2017 version and it failed and now I see a lot of the 2018 are failing, seems like Ford hasn't fixed the issue.
the latest one was put in around a year ago - has worked well so far but I am confident it will eventually fail again -
Huntingfool is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2019, 09:03 AM   #46
Huntingfool
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAC View Post
Accessory Protocall Interface Module (APIM). This is not the screen itself. Controls everything in center stack. Sometimes a hour battery disconnect can resolve the issue. Other times the module has to be replaced. Usually they can be had in 2-3 days.
Mine was the module (on my third one now) - took a month for them to get the part at the time which led me to believe they were having to replace these modules all over the place. I did the battery disconnect multiple times with zero luck
Huntingfool is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2019, 07:14 PM   #47
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

That's what I'm afraid of, Ford replaces the part and it fails again. They will want me to pay again.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2019, 07:59 PM   #48
Huntingfool
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
That's what I'm afraid of, Ford replaces the part and it fails again. They will want me to pay again.
just have to try to involve your dealer and the corporate office - bug them until they agree to cover it - believe me they are fully aware there is an issue with their vehicle
Huntingfool is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2019, 08:17 PM   #49
WTucker
Ten Point
 
WTucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Orangefield
Hunt In: Votaw, Anywhere else I can.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spotsanddots View Post
Man, you guys are scaring me. I have a 2018 thats about to be a year old in December. I have about 22,000 miles on it. So far, (knock on wood) no problems. The only issue Ive had so far it the text message notification dinger on the screen has to be always reset or it wont notify my phone that a text was sent. Other than that, (like i said, knock on wood) I havent had any other problems. I dont know what i'd do if i had to spend 1000-1200 on a new radio and computer screen, that takes 4 weeks to get in, then more to have it installed. Hopefully responding to this thread doenst jinx me.
I was reading this thread thinking the same thing. I have a 2018 with Sync 3 also. Hopefully if it happens to me it will still be under warranty.
WTucker is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-05-2019, 07:02 AM   #50
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

I do have a call in to Ford. I'm waiting for them to respond.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com