Small Engine Mechanics?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Small Engine Mechanics?

I’m not a mechanic by no means but can fix most stuff on my lawn mowers.
    But I’m having a problem with my push mower. It will run for a few minutes then die. It has that push button primer. When it dies, that button is sucked in. Once I get it back out and push it a couple times, it starts right back up and runs for a few minutes till I have to repeat whole process. Takes forever to get stuff mowed where I can’t get the riding mower in. Is this primer button the problem or something else?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	9C5E861E-FD64-46F4-ADDA-F0BBCD362DAE.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	25254897

Name:	91CE858D-2F1D-4BB9-BB34-DE7552562AB0.jpeg
Size:	110.1 KB
ID:	25254898
    Top pic is what it looks like when it dies.
    Any help appreciated!!!

I would bet that the primer bulb has a small vent that is clogged.

Comment

Restricted fuel from tank. Pull the tank off. I bet it has a lot of crud in the tank and the pick-up tube screen.

Comment

starving for fuel,
        would also think blockage of screen on line in tank or tank it self has trash that has been suck up

Comment

1st replace that bulb if possible

Take that carb off and spray the hell out of it with carb cleaner

Comment

Could also be the vent for the gas tank is plugged or blocked by dirt/mud dauber. If the tank cannot get air in to replace the fuel burned it starts to go under vacuum resulting in a collapsed bulb. See it often in boat fuel lines but not much on a mower.

Tim

Comment

Crack the gas cap and try it, probably plugged vent in cap.

Comment