Hate grease guns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hate grease guns

Need some pro tips from my fellow TBHers on how to grease my truck’s zerks. I’ve been doing it for over 20 years and I still can’t get it right without having to fool with them a bunch. By then I’ve made a huge mess and can barely tell if I added any!

Anyone use those lock-on couplers??

Yes, I bought one of the lock on types and it has done real well. I like it for removing the coupler as much as getting on the port. I would recommend it.

Comment

Sometimes it is not the grease gun, it is the grease fitting.
      They go bad, the little spring hangs up, they clog up.
      For about 6 or 8 bucks buy a grease fitting assortment to keep in your shop, they have them at Harbour Fraught, Tractor supply, NAPA, lots of places
      Get one in metric and one in SAE.

When a zerk refused to operate properly change that sucker out.

Also a grease gun with a hand grip pump lever can be operated with one hand and is much handier than a standard one with the bigger lever that takes two hands to operate. Sometimes the extra hand to properly hold the grease hose end in just the right place on the zerk makes all the difference.

Comment

Make sure to clean the fitting and the tip of the grease gun too. You don't want to push debris into the joint.

Also, I use a small pick and make sure the ball detent can be easily pushed in. Sometimes they stick.

Comment

Originally posted by mcbZX225 View Post
          Yes, I bought one of the lock on types and it has done real well. I like it for removing the coupler as much as getting on the port. I would recommend it.
          This. Bought it on a whim but love it

Comment

Thank you for starting this thread. It’s a personal pain in the A for next as well. Even with clean or new zerks.

Comment

Coupler made difference for me on tractors and mowers, lot of good info hear especially on those zerts

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment