Bless foster parents/those who adopt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm a Police Officer. I often spent my time dealing with the lowest of society which tends to make one lose faith in mankind to a degree. To add to it, all we hear about is the negative aspects of society, race issues, we're all doomed, etc....

I was working an OT job today at a local church. As I walked down a hallway, I met a family who was comprised of two white parents, probably mid thirties, and three of their children. The kids were black and mixed race. The oldest was 12 and appeared to have some sort of handicap. The oldest was I believe autistic to some level. As soon as they saw me, the kids instantly wanted to chat. I was blown away by these people. The 12 year old boy was awesome. We talked about his favorite video games, what he liked to do, etc... He was apparently high functioning as he was a very talkative, intelligent young boy. His sister was probably 10. She was a beautiful child, very soft spoken, clinging to her mother as she told me she loves to read and write stories. She was the type of child that melts your heart. The youngest child was probably 6 and was reserved but did engage when I tried to talk to him. After chatting, the mom told the kids to follow dad to wherever they were going. I got a chance to talk to mom for a few minutes. She told me that she and her husband had adopted 5 children through the foster system. I mentioned how busy I imagined their household to be. She confirmed my suspicion! Mom mentioned that they would like to adopt some teenagers when the younger kids are grown and leave the home. She then mentioned the oldest child's(12yr olds) disability and made the comment that he would probably be with them for life.