400/320amp service entrance wire size

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

400/320amp service entrance wire size

First off....I am not an electrician.....but I can follow directions.

I want 400/320amp service on a property I own...…...ranch out in the country. I don't need that much now, but have plans to expand.

I have talked to TNMP (texas-new mexico), and they say for overhead 320a service, my pole needs to be 30' from their pole mounted transformer. But they wont give me straight answer on what size wire I need to provide (from the meter to weatherhead) for them to splice into.

So I have my new meter pole set, and I am ready to buy my meter can & wire.

Can anyone help me figure out what size? The TNMP guy says he thinks code is 500mcm for that size service entrance...….

THanks in advance!

Yes 500mcm copper will do for a 400 amp service. You can go to 600mcm alumalloy, but I do not know the current wire prices to see if Alu is feasible compared to copper.

Comment

Ampacity chart

Ampacity is the maximum current that a conductor can carry continuously under the conditions of use without exceeding its temperature rating. Cerrowire's ampacity chart helps calculate the load requirement for a circuit.

Comment

Are they dropping 320 amps or 400 amps?

My service is 320 amps and I installed 500MCM copper. I forgot how much of a ***** that stuff is to wrassle! [emoji15]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

Originally posted by Mike D View Post

My service is 320 amps and I installed 500MCM copper. I forgot how much of a ***** that stuff is to wrassle! [emoji15]

You could also run 2 sets of 2/0 for 320. FWIW the lugs in my meter base were set up to accept this wire configuration.

You could run 2 sets of 3/0 for 400 amps.

Comment

Originally posted by Mike D View Post

They call it 320. The meter can I am getting is a Milbank u1079-r.