Tractor Implement Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tractor Implement Question

Let me start this out with the fact that I have a serious gopher issue in my pastures. So much so that I would say the gopher mounds 100 times worse than what the hogs have been doing.

That said, I'm looking to get an impalement that would help level out certain areas. I have a loader bucket on the front that I can use to start with but I was thinking that a heavy duty 7-8' box blade and or a land plane would help to smooth both gopher and hog areas.

I have no experience with either but I'm leaning towards box blade.

Sandy loam soil and 75hp tractor.

Is this or are these the right tool for the job?

You might want to invest or barrow one of these to help control the numbers. Then I would suggest a box blade.
    Attached Files

Comment

Invite all your friends over with the kids and 22lr's and go to town.

Comment

Originally posted by megger89 View Post
        You might want to invest or barrow one of these to help control the numbers. Then I would suggest a box blade.
        Can you tell me more about this?

Comment

To be honest for what your wanting to do a big piece of pipe or RR iron and some truck tire behind it will be much faster. Problem with the hog spots is all the grass clumps. A box blade or land plane will just ball the grass clumps. Best thing ive found is a 3pt tiller or disc to turn up the hog spots then drag out smooth.

But without all that you might as well just use the drag. Chain Harrows are handy to. But without somehting to break up the clumps in the hog spots it will never be smooth.

Now the gopher mounds the drag will make quick work of.
          Last edited by dclifton; 04-11-2022, 02:03 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by dclifton View Post