Vehicle Buying Expectations- Dealership

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vehicle Buying Expectations- Dealership

Maybe it’s just me. I’ve had some of the craziest experiences imaginable buying a used vehicle.

Are my expectations unrealistic? I can’t seem to make it through this process. I’m always pre-approved.

1) Obtain pre-approved car loan with super low rate
    2) Identify potential vehicle
    3) Contact dealer, get salesman assigned.
    4) Negotiate price before arriving.
    5). Test drive
    6) Value trade-in (if needed)
    7) Close deal

CarMax, and you're done.

Comment

Yes. You are crazy if you think the process is ever going to happen that way.

Comment

You should only expect one thing when buying a car.....

Comment

With used vehicles I’ve had a pretty easy time because I usually have several that I’d be willing to buy. I also know that even if I walk out the salesman will call back in a day or two. Start with the assumption that the dealer has marked it up 20% from what he purchased it for and go from there.

Comment

Originally posted by tdwinklr View Post
            CarMax, and you're done.
            Roger that and having spent about 6 hours at a dealer 2 weeks ago helping my granddaughter buy her first car, we heard all the B.S. Stories and excuses I've heard about every time.

My favorite comeback to their "You really need to get the extended warranty" is "So you don't have enough faith/confidence in your own product and think I need it?"

Comment

We did Carmax this past year and it was really quick. We were done in a couple of hours, walking in to driving out with new car. And they can search inventory, move cars from store to store for a small fee.

Comment

I will say this when it comes to buying a vehicle.

Too many people get hung up on what the dealership is wanting to sell the vehicle for. They don't spend enough time on deciding what "they" will spend on said vehicle.