Shed build using 14th century tech and Catalan vaults

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shed build using 14th century tech and Catalan vaults

So the wife said I could build a shed... but I'm an engineer. Further, I have a passion for 14th century stone masonry and Catalan domes.

First there was the excavation, on a slope and pour 10 cu yds of concrete. $3k right there. I refused to put any rebar into the structure due to condemning it to a 70 year life max. So I went with fiberglass threads in the concrete to give it tensile strength, with a bonus of avoiding cracking. Now 10 cu yds is a hell of a lot of concrete for a 200 sq ft structure. But I'm putting in masonry walls and roof, and I want that foundation to be strong and last 250 years. The foundation was the last time I used any power tool, from here on I went traditional. Cut down trees to built tools, mallets, wedges, string guides.

Next their were the walls. The inside wythe is CMU but filled with grout to give more strength and mass. The outside wythe is limestone, both wythe can be load bearing but the roof is laid on the inside CMU wythe.

Then came the roof. I love the geometry and math behind Catalan domes. They came from Moorish influence that spilled into Catalan Spain around 14th century. Simple tile with a fast drying mortar then layered over again for strength, think cardboard. Catalan domes eventually came to the US after the great Chicago fire when we got safety conscious. Look up Guastavino domes, you'll find the US has about 2000 G. domes in our cities. The big bonus here is strength. A normal composite roof has a live load rating of say 200 #/sq ft, while this dome is about 2,200 #/sq ft.

The roof is a dome, hence round, being put on a square building. That will require a squinch to be built, or curve it into a pedantive. I had no idea of other when I began it, I figured it out as I went.