Real Estate Agents or someone who has sold a house

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Real Estate Agents or someone who has sold a house

If I sell my home for x amount, do I have to buy another house for same x amount? Ex. Sell for $200000 buy for $200000. If so what if I have two houses but I want to down size, can I put some in the bank for future?

TIA

You can Pm me if you want.

If you sell a house you can do whatever in the heck you want with any equity, or profit money you want!! You can roll it into another property, but it in the bank or whatever you want, as long as it’s profit.

If you owe 200K and sell for 200K you didnt make any money. If you 100K and sell for 200K you just made yourself 100K not counting taxes or realtor fees.

Comment

Are you trying to ask about capital gains?

Comment

Im an agent. Is this a tax related question?

Comment

You’re exempt up to $250k (500k married) on capital gains tax if you’ve owed the home for 2 years I believe. There may be more exemptions I’m not sure. Ask a professional [emoji2]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

Originally posted by Hix View Post
            You’re exempt up to $250k (500k married) on capital gains tax if you’ve owed the home for 2 years I believe. There may be more exemptions I’m not sure. Ask a professional [emoji2]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

What about for land? Asking for a friend

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

No. If you sell a house for $200K your next one must be at least $400K. It’s the rule of double. Ask your wife. :-)

Comment

Originally posted by TheHammer View Post
                If you sell a house you can do whatever in the heck you want with any equity, or profit money you want!! You can roll it into another property, but it in the bank or whatever you want, as long as it’s profit.