Grapevine Hogs/turkeys

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Grapevine Hogs/turkeys

Well I'm new to public land hunting as well as Bow hunting for hogs so don't fry me first post.

Dad and I got our permits for Vine hunting back in Sept. and we hunted ducks in marshall creek area and didn't do bad for noobs.

I've done quite a bit of exploring on the public lands, we attempted a hunt off schooling road east of 377 north of the walmart and marshall creek rd. No luck didn't really see any signs of deer or hogs but plenty of game trails. Link below to hunting area.

We looked all around the area south of denton creek (went in from marshall creek park) covered a lot of ground an found an area setup for hog hunting but no rooting/scat just lots of tracks and trails. Link below to area.

Then I went over to the west side of 377 (parked off the railroad tracks at the south side of the bridge) Is this a legal place to park?

Went in and found a place with a lot of rooting activity located on the map in the link below. Marked it on my GPS will go back and try it in the next few weeks.

One last thing. I saw a lot of turkeys in this spot during hunting season but never found there roost, and the guy at the gaurd shack here says they are always around this area, if you have any pointers on where to hunt them legally that would be great, I've been all around there and didn't see anything in the legal hunt area so maybe they roost off to the east near T.W. King road. Turkey siting is marked on the map below

I look forward to any insite or tips on hunting this land, as you can see I haven't explored the area west of 377 or east of 35w due to the fact that I can't find anywhere that looks legal to park, I'm asuming you can only park at the designated areas on the grapevine corps map.

-Matt

pm sent

Comment