Saltwater Fishing Gear Help Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Saltwater Fishing Gear Help Needed

I have very little experience with saltwater fishing. I'm going to pick up a rod & spinning reel for inshore fishing. What is a good set-up? TIA

Penn battle ll for a reel. Don't need anything too big. I like and use Allstar Classic rods. You can spend a lot more but I see no reason to.

Comment

Penn battle or fierce

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Comment

Abu Garcia spinning reel and 7 ft med action rod.

Comment

For an all around setup get a 7' medium action rod and a 2500 or 3000 size spinning reel.

Get whatever rod your budget allows. The inexpensive All Star Classics will get it done. Waterloo Salinity rods are nice. Falcon Coastals are good, so are Castaways. There are plenty of good options.

Penn Battle III and Fierce III are good. So are the Daiwa BGs. If you want to go a little lower budget the Daiwa Regal 3000 has been good. Spool it up with 20-30# braid and spool it on there tight. If the reel doesn't have a spool set up for braid put a layer of mono on first and then tie your braid to that.

You can do a whole lot of different stuff with that setup. As time goes on if you get more into it you may want to get specialized setups for different tasks but a 7' med action spinning setup will always be one you'll have a use for.

Comment

My wife has an ugly stick 7’ lightweight I used the other day with a small
            Penn on it. I actually liked the way it balanced better than my Stradic on a Kisler. I asked her if she wanted to trade and she refused. Im going to put my reel on her rod and go wade for an hour or two and my just let the Kisler sit

Comment

Hard to beat a Shimano Stradic 3000

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

Comment

If you can find one look up the Diawa Laguna. I bought one a few years back on sale for $19 and it has been a great reel. My wife uses it in a 7’ med fishstix coastal pursuit.