Garner State Park Axis Hunt 2020

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Garner State Park Axis Hunt 2020

So I have been applying for this hunt for the past 6 years and had no luck. So this year as I signed up and I also decided to signup my fiance as well. So With me have more preference points I thought it was a great idea to sign us up separately since she didn't have any points. Well...this idea bit me in the ***. She drew for the hunt on her first time applying. She has hunted her entire life but she has always been with her dad and here recently (past 2 years) with me. She has never hunted by herself before and has never hunted axis before either. I have hunted axis once and didn't any luck. I have always been a bowhunter and was raised to be absolutely quiet and still. She grew up in a rifle blind where you can get away with some movement and sound. There has been a few times she has cleared out the feeder by repositioning herself in the chair and blaming the deer running off as they were done eating LOL. I see its been a very hard hunt due to no one really seeing animals, so hopefully we can have one that will present a shot for her. If there is any advise on what we should expect on this hunt it would be greatly appreciated. She drew for the early January rifle hunt

Go with her and try to get a stand by spot.

Unless they have changed it, the Garner hunt is the most elementary hunt Ive been on. I get the hunt has to be safe but they were 2 steps from tying your rifle to the window when I went. We didn't have any issues getting axis (does) that year but it was also like 20 degrees every morning

Comment

What QB said. We went on the youth hunt there in '17. On the first hunt, there were a total of 2 axis seen anywhere by any of the hunters. We didn't bother going back for the next day. The hunt is an inconvenience to the park staff, and they aren't making any money at it.

Comment