Looking to get into photography

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking to get into photography

Ive recently decided to get into photography and have no idea where to start. I mainly am looking at taking wildlife and outdoor pictures. I was wondering if anyone had any reccomendations on cameras, lenses and anything else i may need to get started. I need a very user friendly model as i have no experience outside of taking pictures with my phone so any help is much appreciated. Not looking to break the bank but willing to pay for quality equipment.

Without concrete budget info, best I can recommend would be to stick with one of the big 3 brands. Canon, Nikon, or Sony. Canon is probably the most user friendly IMO and has good entry level options. I'd also recommend buying used. Best way to stretch your dollar a little further. Spend more money on the glass than on the camera body. The lenses hold their value pretty well (especially the "pro" level glass), but the camera bodies are like bows and drop in value pretty fast since there's a new version just about every other year, which again, is a great reason to pick them up used. I tend to stay 2 or 3 years behind the "new" stuff on my camera bodies.

Comment

Originally posted by ATX Tyler View Post
      Without concrete budget info, best I can recommend would be to stick with one of the big 3 brands. Canon, Nikon, or Sony. Canon is probably the most user friendly IMO and has good entry level options. I'd also recommend buying used. Best way to stretch your dollar a little further. Spend more money on the glass than on the camera body. The lenses hold their value pretty well (especially the "pro" level glass), but the camera bodies are like bows and drop in value pretty fast since there's a new version just about every other year, which again, is a great reason to pick them up used. I tend to stay 2 or 3 years behind the "new" stuff on my camera bodies.

Would $1000-$1200 get me started?

Comment