Bass fishing startup advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bass fishing startup advice

My 17 yo son has started fish our local ponds & has had reasonable success. He's good in the bay but he & I suffer from the same problem bass fishing senkos & worms Texas rigged. For some reason we can't seem to get a hook set. We tried waiting to let the fish run, harder hook set, heavier action rod & tightening the drag yet nothing seems to help. I had similar problems when I fished Falcon years ago with my wading setup. Really out of ideas & hoping someone will share some advice. Only happens with Texas rigged senkos & worms not having issues with Ned rig or other species just not hooking up on bass.
    Thanks in advance!
    Alex

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

I am a very amateur bass fisherman but I feel the bite, reel down and rip them lips!!!

Comment

Could be a number of things. My guess is that you either have to small of a hook, or to big of a bait. Expose the hook a little and just barely stick it back into the bait. It will keep it weedless and also make it a little easier to get a hook in em. How big are the fish in the ponds you're fishing?

Comment

Originally posted by breederbuck33 View Post
        Could be a number of things. My guess is that you either have to small of a hook, or to big of a bait. Expose the hook a little and just barely stick it back into the bait. It will keep it weedless and also make it a little easier to get a hook in em. How big are the fish in the ponds you're fishing?