Stand setup for Trad Hunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stand setup for Trad Hunting

This is my first year back to hunting with a recurve, yesterday we set up several new stands for these bows. We are hunting in relatively thick creek bottomland in Fairfield, and thinking I'm a whole lot more comfortable at 15 yds than further, we set our anticipated shooting zones closer than we did with stands set up for compounds. I believe the best one we put up is 20 feet up in a tree, just 14 yards from a feeder, with a huge hog wallow in between and overlooking what we evaluated was the "Interstate-20 of game trails". Just wondered what the strategy is for the rest of you with more trad hunting experience.

Stu

I hunt south, so most of ours are ground blinds.

Our normal setup is 14yds to the feeder. We hand throw corn between the feedr and the stand. Most of our shots are between 10-15yds. If something is on the other side of the feeder, it is 15-18yds. We can still take that shot if we want, but rarely do.

Bisch

Comment

I'm a treestand guy and I set mine up at about 15 yards from trails I expect game to travel. I will set them up at 10 if I feel like I can get away with it. Closer is always better for me even though I shoot well to 25.

Comment

I don't like to get toooo high. The angle becomes worse for the kill zone. I like to hunt as low as I can get away with.

Comment

Originally posted by Chunky View Post
          I don't like to get toooo high. The angle becomes worse for the kill zone. I like to hunt as low as I can get away with.
          Excellent point about the angle, in fact, we did end up moving the lock-on a little lower to take advantage of all the step sticks (being old men in our 50's) so I guess the seat will end up about 16ft off the ground. It's gonna be hot and sweaty there in the early season, so we tried to split the difference between being too high to shoot and just high enough to scatter scent effectively.

Stu