DIY trapping a Coyote/cat/coon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DIY trapping a Coyote/cat/coon

Well with all the new interest in trapping I thought I would do a DIY post about it….There are tons of videos on YouTube and a lot of good info on Trapperman.

I’m not a professional trapper but think i have the basics down.

For Coons I will be using either Duke DP traps or Duke 1 ½ coil spring traps. Coyotes and cats will be using duke #3 and #4.

Coons are not as picky and you can use new traps with just the oils removed. Coyotes are really weary and the traps need to be scent free.

Let’s get started with getting the traps ready to set. The new traps have factor oil on them that needs to be removed. I then dye and wax the traps so they are scent free. In order for the dye to stick to the traps they need a little rust. After washing the oils off I soak them in vinegar/water so they will rust up and be ready for the dye.

I bought 6 duke #4 4x4 traps.

First step is the wash the traps with soapy water. I used regular dawn dish soap with hot water. This will remove all the factory oils from the traps.

Second step is soaking them in vinegar water. I put about ¾ of a gallon of vinegar to about 3 gallons of water in a five gallon bucket. I let the traps soak in this bucket overnight. This solution will make the traps rust faster.....

Traps look pretty much the same this morning, but we will see what they look like after sitting out all day.

This is going to take a few day so don’t get in a hurry…If your traps are not scent free they will be dug up. lets see if i can get some pics loaded
    Last edited by yanta61; 02-04-2014, 09:31 AM.

The Vinegar is acidic and etches the traps, which allows for quicker rusting..

You can also boil new traps in water and a small amount of baking soda to remove the rust and odors, but just boil for a few minutes..

Great thread!

Comment

Can you elaborate on the process of actually dying and waxing them?