question for employment Lawyer or such

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

question for employment Lawyer or such

Along with a lot of others I'm sure, the layoff bug has hit home with us. My wife was laid off today for 2 weeks. It starts at the end of today. Here is the kicker though, when she comes back they want her to take a 30% cut in salary until July when it would go back up to normal. It feels like she is trying to get her to say no and quit, then any unemployment would be denied in turn saving the owner money. Is that legal?

I am not a lawyer but it is probably legal! We are a right to work state. Can be fired for no reason.

Comment

Correct, right to work. About 25% of my customers have had to take pay cuts, nothing crazy in times like this but 30% sounds high to me.

Comment

thats the problem, she isn't being fired. She is being laid off for two weeks, then expected to come back with a 30% reduction in her contracted original salary. she is trying to make her quit by reducing a contracted salary 30% for a certain time (who knows how that plays out in july). Be a lot easier if she fired her. I guess she can refuse the 30% cut and maybe she will fire her then.

Comment

Every company in America is making some sort of decision around this or will have to at some point. Our accountants were estimating 30-40% of small businesses not coming back after this. It's a horrible situation for all involved. Unemployment is going to go through the roof in very short order. She might consider taking the pay cut for the short term....

Comment

Make sure your wife tells them she is returning. She can always not return. As far as the cut in pay. Put your business owners hat on. They have a lot to lose and probably debt as well. I'm sure most business are requesting the reduction to give the business time to resuscitate. BOL

Comment