Long range advice needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Long range advice needed

Looking for advice for a beginner wanting to get into long range. Bowhunter mostly but I do love firearms! Mainly wondering about calibers if you were going to build the LR gun of your dreams what caliber? I’m talking 700-1200 yard stuff, maybe further. Would like to take animals at 500-800 but still shoot steel beyond that. I’m a good shooter. Currently have a Rem 700 in .270 that I have made ethical kills out to 400. Also bought a Rem 700 PSS in .308 about 5 years ago with the intention to make long rage but haven’t even bought a scope or fired it yet. So the question... go with my plan on the .308 or sell and go different caliber?? I know the .308 has limits beyond 900 or so. Not opposed to selling. I like to buy the best and not look back. Really no limits on optics but have numerous NF scopes and kinda leaning towards the NXS 5.5-22. I’m new to long range so any advice is appreciated. I dont mind spending the money but want to do it right the first time.

I'd say it depends on the size of game you're after. Deer size and down I would look at the 6.5PRC, 6.5x284, and 264 mag. Any larger game and I would get a bigger caliber. 300 win mag is tried and true and the new 30PRC looks good also. I'd go custom for the gun if funds permit. APR is highly recommended around here and they know their stuff.

Comment

Originally posted by 45 ACP View Post