55 gallon septic- draining

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

55 gallon septic- draining

I'm new to the 55 gallon septic systems & am pretty ignorant. I have two of them connected & both are pretty full so I need to drain them soon. I've asked around & apparently it's not uncommon to drain it by pumping it out & blowing it onto the nearby ground. Below is a pic of a $200 Harbor Freight 2 inch 212cc semi-trash, 158 gum, water pump. I read the reviews & one person said he used it to empty his septic tank. All other reviews talk about only using it for water. Will this empty both 55 gallons of poop & pee? I know there are pumps specifically for septics but I'd also like to use this to pump water into a few IBC water totes for critters.
    Attached Files

I’m sure the critters will appreciate that...

Comment

Not sure how it would do on the solids unless they are broke down pretty good.

Comment

I would use a trash pump

I see it says semi- trash so it will work

Comment

It will work fine as long as you don’t have any small rocks or peebles in the bottom of your 55 gallon barrels,use the supplied screen or just be sure to keep it off the bottom

Comment

Make sure you bring plenty of water to prime the pump.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

Coffee can nailed onto a bed slat. Get to dipping and load it in 5 gallon buckets and tote it out to the back pasture. That was the way we did it long time ago.

Comment

We have a situation at my parents lake place where we pump a grey water holding tank into two IBC totes and haul it half a mile away to another property we own with a shop/metal building that has a drain field we drain the tanks with a 3/4” hose.
                So I have a little experience doing 750 gallons at a time. Only grey water, no solids. We have a professional come one time per year and vacuum both tanks.