feeder light on steroids

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

feeder light on steroids

I am tired of small solar powered lights around our house feeder. I am a novice when it comes to electrical stuff but know the basics on how to wire into a breaker box etc. My plan is to run some direct bury UF wire from the house to the feeder (150 yards) with a heavy duty timer so it will always be on from dusk until whenever. Im going to rent a trencher to get the wire as deep as I can so I don't hit it disking etc. However, I'm not sure how to wire the circuit down at the feeder end as I want 4 or so lights in separate trees somewhat far apart to light up a big area around the whole feeder. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated in terms of what type/gauge of wire I should use etc. Thank you in advance

No advice, but sounds like a cool plan.

Comment

Could you wire up some LEDs with a 12 volt gel battery and either motion switch or a dusk to dawn switch .you could bolt an ammo can to the feeder for the battery and electronics . You can install a separate solar panel to keep your battery charged. Just an idea

Comment

I use these -- 3 or 4 per feeder -- and can shoot hogs from 125 yds away with a Leupold 3-9 with heavy duplex reticle. Best solar powered lights I've found in 10 years of doing them.

Comment

If you are going to run all of that line, just go ahead and put up a big mercury vapor street light. That will light a big area. I would get it about 20 feet in the air. You could use drill stem to put it in the air. Wiring it would need to be done by someone with electrical experience, something I wouldn't attempt. Good Luck.

Comment

This seems plenty bright, and a lot easier

Comment

For what the trencher rental will cost, that Sniper unit can be had.

You can't build a comparable quality unit for what they're asking.

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately - Thoreau

Comment

Originally posted by Outback77 View Post