Crossbow recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Crossbow recommendations

My wife has decided to take some interest in bowhunting. Figured I may start her on a crossbow. Any recommendations? I have bowhunted 20+ years but have zero experience with crossbows. TIA

Excalibur. I have owned various brands. Excalibur has been the best.

Comment

Best bang for buck in my opinion is the sniper 370. My wife has one and my son and both have killed numerous hogs and deer with them. Great crossbows for under $300 and shoot lights out.

Comment

After numerous shoulder surgeries I could no longer shoot my bow. I gave it away in May. My wife bought me a Tenpoint Viper 400 with the Accuslide crank. It's awesome !

It's so easy to cock and de-cock that my 10 year old grandson does it by himself. If you let the crank go it will not spin back and hit you like the earlier versions.

Would be easy for your wife to cock by herself. Just my 2 cents.
        Hope that you and your wife enjoy the time together.

Comment

Originally posted by hogslayer78 View Post
          Best bang for buck in my opinion is the sniper 370. My wife has one and my son and both have killed numerous hogs and deer with them. Great crossbows for under $300 and shoot lights out.
          x2
          Spend about $80 on a trigger job, some good bolts (Black Eagle Archery) and have an xbow that will shoot better than most people can shoot.

Comment

Coming from someone who isn't a fan of crossbows, get a Ravin if you are going to get one.

Had a couple buddies get crossbows this year and they had no experience so I sighted them in. A Ravin and a Tenpoint. The Ravin was head and shoulders above the Tenpoint.

Comment

Originally posted by T-roy66 View Post
              x2
              Spend about $80 on a trigger job, some good bolts (Black Eagle Archery) and have an xbow that will shoot better than most people can shoot.