Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire

Old 06-10-2020, 08:01 PM   #1
docmay
Pope & Young

Default New kayak purchaseóneed help!

I have the fishing bug in a bad way. I am wanting to buy a kayak but live in Amarillo. Will have to travel to get one so demo opportunities will be limited. I have some money to spend so budget isnít an issue. Will mainly fish lakes in north Texas, New Mexico and Oklahoma. I know wind will be an issue and I really want a pedal drive. I am a plus sized guy at 6í2Ē and about 275lbs. I do think I might get a wild hair and drag it to the coast once in a while. I donít mind if it gets super shallow. If that shallow Iíll get out and wade. I have limited experience on a kayak and have fished around port Mansfield in one. I am currently torn between a Hobie pro angler 14 and a Jackson big rig. Welcome to other ideas. Years ago I almost pulled the trigger on a Jackson Cuda but didnít do it. Looking forward to some guidance!
docmay is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-10-2020, 08:04 PM   #2
Chew
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Leon County

Research and then buy from austin canoe & kayak (www.ack.com). They deliver. Lots of top brands and accessories.
Chew is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-10-2020, 08:14 PM   #3
Shane
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Mismatched camo

I have bought a couple from ACK, and they shipped them to me (freight, not UPS). I didn't get to demo before I bought either. I just researched and watched YouTube videos. I was not at all disappointed in my choice after that, in spite of not being able to demo.
Shane is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-10-2020, 08:40 PM   #4
TX03RUBI
Ten Point

Hunt In: Hall County

We’ve had a couple shipped to us from ACK here in Lubbock. No issues.
TX03RUBI is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-10-2020, 08:45 PM   #5
hopedale
Ten Point

Hunt In: WMAs

Just a suggestion, but road trip to Austin.