Antique auto mechanic in the Houston area

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Antique auto mechanic in the Houston area

Seems like I keep turning to the TBH braintrust more and more so here's another question for y'all.

This summer I bought a '49 chevy 3100 and have been working on it, replacing just about everything besides the body and some of the glass. I've got it to a point where it runs and drives, it just doesn't run well.....

Being as I have never worked on something like this I was thinking of taking it to a shop that is familiar with these trucks or just old cars in general to fix a few issues, engine overheating and carb not running right. I'm a broke college student so I don't wanna take it to some high end antique place and was hoping y'all would have some recommendations for somewhere in the BCS/Houston area.

Here's an obligatory pic for those who wanna see.
    Attached Files

I think you should save your self some money and diagnos the over heating issue. Part of the fun owning an old truck like that is fixing them. There rather simple. Is the radiator clean? Looks like a cool truck

Comment

That’s about as simple as it gets to work on. I’d get on YouTube and get after it.

Comment

in line six ?? 235.. ????
        Check to see, if it has a thermostat in it...…………
        Those old engines, were known as a hot water six...…….
        But they "must" have a thermostat...……
        I had a 52...… Cool old trucks...………..

Comment

New Caney Customs in New Caney.

Comment

Originally posted by sailor View Post
            in line six ?? 235.. ????
            Check to see, if it has a thermostat in it...…………
            Those old engines, were known as a hot water six...…….
            But they "must" have a thermostat...……
            I had a 52...… Cool old trucks...………..