Advice for Richland Creek postcard duck hunt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for Richland Creek postcard duck hunt

As a total newby duck hunter any and all advice is welcome for that specific area.
    I've seen the video that TWPD has about the area but other things I'm concerned about are what would actually work for a minimum investment?
    For example--I have waders but do I have to have a ''blind"? How about a marsh stool and just be still? I have a dozen decoys and have been practicing my "duck whistle" as advised from a previous post to do instead of call. I still pretty much suck at calling still.
    Do they let you drive within a close distance to your assigned area to hunt? Or will I have to hoof it from the camping area? How about my hunting bicycle instead?
    I have a boat-will I need it? And I've been 'practicing' on the ducks at the local lakes with some success. Actually more practice than hunting and running around on the boat exploring.

Any and all opinions and advice are welcome.

Many thanks.

You must bring waders. There is no need for a blind. Just find some cover and use a marsh stool. That is what I've done in the past.
    One or two dozen is enough, try to call as little as possible. Just the occasional whistle.
    Normally you will drive to your spot Friday after orientation, do your setup. on hunting day, just leave your truck in the "parking area" and walk to your setup.
    Really no need for a boat, most of the area has less a foot or so of water. Just be aware of the deep areas in your compartment.

Have fun. When are you going?.

Comment

Drawn for the last 3 days of duck season. I'm really fairly excited about it.

Comment

They are going to put a bunch of ping pong balls in a bucket with numbers on them

Each group draws and then whichever has #1 gets first choice of hunt areas, then #2 then#3 and so on

Set up the first day, then start hunting the following day through end date