Calling Financial Planners....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Calling Financial Planners....

My parents have about $500,000 in taxable mutual funds. They are ready to transition out of equities and into a more principal protected position, such as CD's or bonds. We are discussing some of the issues that will arise such as long term capital gains, etc. I am just beginning to research bonds vs. CD's vs. Jumbo CD's.... I understand the basics of the aforementioned, but I am trying to vet out the pros and cons of each. They do not need this money to be income producing as they have pensions, a paid off house, and a healthy amount in savings. At their age, they, as am I, are becoming concerned with volatility and we feel that they need to protect their principal with a much more conservative position. They are fine with making a much lower return for the peace of mind that their principal will be protected moving forward. Thoughts, opinions, advice, etc. are all welcomed. Thank you in advance.

Food for thought since you mentioned volatility and opinions... volatility has and will always exist. Risk is the only reason there’s a return above zero for any investment. There’s always a reason to move out of the market and into something “safer”. In the end, do whats best for your parents...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

PM sent with contact info.

Comment

PMd you with my contact info

Comment

Originally posted by Planner View Post
          Food for thought since you mentioned volatility and opinions... volatility has and will always exist. Risk is the only reason there’s a return above zero for any investment. There’s always a reason to move out of the market and into something “safer”. In the end, do whats best for your parents...

You are correct, poor choice of words, they are looking to reduce risk exposure, thus they are willing to accept a lower rate of return to preserve capital vs. long term growth.

Comment