Lathe Projects

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lathe Projects

I have always liked the idea of wood turning, but always found something else to spend money on rather than a lathe. FIL had his grandfathers shop smith collecting dust in a corner and was glad to send it my way. Circa 1960, his grandfathers name and social security number is engraved in the top. I don’t need the other tools, so it will stay configured as a lathe. Bought a nova chuck, appropriate adapter, and a new tail stock center.

First project was the tool itself. Years of surface rust, but some light sanding and all is well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

First lesson was wear a face shield and make sure the chuck is really tight. Wife learned how much head wounds bleed.

I’m really intrigued by wood and epoxy combos these days so trying my hand at making blanks. Bargain bin wood from rockler and total boat.

Comment

I've been a machinist over 30 years and wood turning scares me lol.

Comment

That is a beast of a lathe. Biggest recommendation I have for you is to make sure to get the bubbles out of your workpiece by either vacuum, or preferably, using a pressure pot.

I don't have one and whenever I try to turn my projects, the bubbles all shatter. Looks horrible, can't fix, and I got some hardened epoxy in the eye. Not fun.

Comment

I do need to set up a pressure pot. Hoping this works but it definitely may not.

I wasn’t scared of it but taking a block to the head sure woke me up. Healthy respect now for sure.

Comment

nothing better than breathing life into an old machine, especially if it was your grandfathers.

Comment

watching this

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

Watching. My neighbor does a lot of turning. I keep saying I'm going to go set in his garage one evening and learn how.

Comment