Getting a Dog: Lab or Golden?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting a Dog: Lab or Golden?

It's time for my family to get a new dog. We are deciding between a lab and a golden.

I have very little experience with dogs. I wasn't allowed to have one as a kid due to my dad having a traumatic experience with one.

I know dogs are a lot of work and I'm ready to take that on.

I might train it to track, but the main reason is for the family to have a companion.

I have (3) kids and (1) cat. I know a lot of people's opinions on cats, but she has to stay (she's my son's).

With that being said, I know labs and goldens are pretty similar as far as being good with kids, other animals and their temperament.

Are there any big differences between the two? Does a golden shed more?

I'd assume so because of the long-hair, but don't know.

Goldens shed like crazy... Labs do also but shorter air and not as visible.

Comment

I have never had a golden, but I have had two chocolate labs. They are high energy, and require quite a bit or work. They can also be fairly stubborn given the chance. Though she is loyal to a fault. Our lab currently is an inside dog, and we have dark floors so we don't see too much of the shedding until we give her a bath in the tub or empty out the roomba. I highly recommend getting a roomba for either of the two breeds you want.

Comment

I have both. Depends what you want to do both dogs are great the Golden is an all-around family dog and just wants to please and loves the kids. The lab is more independent and more my wife's dog than the families. I honestly feel our lab sheds more but that is my opinion since I am always sweeping up black hair.

Comment

If your worried about shedding get a doodle. We have a mini golden doodle and he’s great with the family. 2 years old and weighs 22 lbs.

Comment

Originally posted by dustinztx View Post